Tailgate Friday: Top Secret Chicken Wings

I feel as if this has been a long time coming.

I introduced this blog with Buffalo chicken wing dip and haven’t really touched the art (and it is indeed an art) of the chicken wing since. It’s a controversial topic really- hot sauce brand, cooking times, coatings, dipping sauces – it can be an overwhelming undertaking for a first timer.

Good thing this isn’t my first time.

I can’t remember a time in my family’s house when chicken wings were not an accompaniment to pizza. Regardless if we ordered it in or made the pizza ourselves, there were always, ALWAYS wings involved.

And we weren’t above ordering the wings either. I’m from Western New York for God’s sakes. We have the best wings on the planet. Don’t believe me? Go to Buffalo and see.

But more often then not, we made them. I say ‘we’ loosely as I never made them. I would most certainly burn myself into oblivion with hot oil. But I did observe…closely.

This recipe is legendary. Legendary because it is apparently the recipe from The Anchor Bar in Buffalo – home of the original Buffalo Chicken Wing. The origin of this top secret recipe is questionable. First of all it comes from my father – not that he is prone to exaggeration or anything, but because this whole super secret recipe exchange went down  like a bazillion years ago (or 30) and often details become distorted through time. Secondly, it was passed on from a friend of a friend who knew someone’s aunt/cousin/dog that worked at the Anchor Bar, and well, you know how that goes…

Basically, what I am saying is I cannot vouch for its validity. What I can vouch for is its delicious and ease. Easy? Chicken Wings? Surprisingly so. And the reason I am sharing this top-secret-stolen-recipe is because it is so ridiculously easy I’m going to assume you could have figured it out on your own.  It’s literally 3 ingredients and one of these ingredients is the actual wing itself. Honestly, I really think the simplicity of this wing is what makes it tastes so perfect. There’s no super fancy ingredients involved – it’s just really good.

You are welcome in advanced.

Top Secret Chicken Wings

Yields: 1 pound-o-wings

Difficulty: Stupid easy, just don’t burn yourself

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb. chicken wings and drumsticks (about 12 pieces)
  • 3 tablespoons Frank’s Red Hot Sauce (use more if you like them hotter)
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • Oil for frying (I use vegetable oil)

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil to 350 degrees
  2. Carefully place wings in the hot oil for 15-20 minutes depending on your desired doneness. I like mine crispy so 20 it is.
  3. Remove the wings from the oil and place on a paper bag to absorb the oil.
  4. While the wings are frying, melt butter and Franks Hot Sauce together on the stove until boiling. Turn off the heat.
  5. Place wings, 4 or 5 at a time, in the pot with the butter/Franks mixture, put the lid on, and shake around until coated.
  6. Eat with Blue Cheese and Celery, cause that’s how us New Yorker’s do it.

6 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: Top Secret Chicken Wings

  1. Pingback: Thankful Things – Part I | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Super Bowl Roundup | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: One Year Later | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: Tailgate Friday: Chicken Wing Roll | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

