Awesome Sauce

Good News – I did not perish at the numbingly frigid 10K!! Even better news – I set a new PR!

Now, this is kind of lame as the only time I have to compare this to is my previous, and only other, 10k time from last year (read about that debacle here) a mildly embarrassing 1:11:03 but a PR is a PR and I’ll take it!

In actuality, I was shooting for around 58 minutes so under 55 is thrilling for me. Apparently, if it’s snowing outside, my body wants to get back inside in a hurry.

This race also gave me a good opportunity to ‘test’ out some pre-race nibbles. Word on the street is that you are supposed to fuel up with a small meal about 2 hours before you run. My meal of choice that morning:

Please excuse my spotty banana

I usually go for bananas before runs because they have lots-o potassium and I have been prone to stitches as of late. I threw in a chocolate chip Clif Kid bar for a few extra carbs and some chocolaty goodness to ease my jitters. This seemed to work well, so not only as I cramp-free, I felt I had enough energy throughout the race. So much apparently that I passed these suckers on my way to the finish line:

See ya later, bozos!!

Go. Me.

Now, enough of this self-praising running junk, I have recipes to share!

Ever since the temperatures have started to plummet, I have been on a sweet potato kick. Mostly because they are super cheap this time of year and also because and I like to eat seasonal produce as much as possible. Sweet potatoes  are better for you than regular old potatoes and I think they taste way better. They pretty much rock my culinary world.

This recipe is essentially my ‘go to’ side dish. They are  easy to make and the sauce that I serve with them is even easier.

Sassy Sweet Potato Fries

"Somebody say sweet potato fries??"

Yields: 2 servings

Level: Easy Peasy

Ingredients:

  • 2 large sweet potatoes
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Tbsp Paprika
  • 1/2 Tbsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp Corn Starch
  • Pinch of Cayenne Pepper
  • salt to taste

(It should be noted that unless I am baking, I have a bad habit of not measuring – I’m a free spirit – so these amounts are just estimates. Feel free to add more or less to taste, you really can’t mess them up)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Peal and julienne each sweet potato like so:
  3. Add in Olive Oil, Paprika, Garlic Powder, Corn Starch, Cayenne Pepper, and Salt.
  4. Toss around thoroughly. You don’t want to see any white cornstarch (it tastes like poo)
  5. Spread out the fries in one layer on a non stick backing sheet. It helps if the fries are not touching each other, but who wants to rummage through the fries trying to get them all separated? If you’ve got the time, awesome. If not, no big deal.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes
  7. Flip the fries and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes or until they are golden(er) and crispyish. Keep on eye on them as they can burn pretty easily near the end.
  8. Serve with Awesome Sauce!

There is a story behind Awesome Sauce that must be shared as I would never, ever thought  this combination of ingredients would be the absolute best thing to dip these fries in…

A long time ago, back in NY, I was served up some sweet potato fries at a local restaurant that accompanied them with an awesome (hence the name) sauce. I happened to know the chef and asked what was in said sauce. “You don’t want to know” he replied…um, gross… But I persevered and got my recipe. And I was grossed out. I hate mayonnaise and as luck would have it, that was the base of the sauce. Could’ve fooled me…

Awesome Sauce

Saucyyyy

Yields: 2 Servings

Level: Top 3 easiest things you will ever make

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise (you can use light, it tastes the same)
  • 1 Tbsp Hot Sauce  (I use Frank’s – Duh) more or less to taste
  • Dash of Garlic Powder
  • Dash of Paprika

Directions:

  1. Mix ingredients in a bowl
  2. Set in fridge for at least a 1/2 hour so the flavors mix together.

A serving of the above recipes (both fries and sauce – made with light mayo) comes in at around 310 calories.

11 thoughts on “Awesome Sauce

  1. Pingback: The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: A Potato Chip Celebration! | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Running Essentials | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: Runner Milestones | The Sassy Swan

  5. Pingback: Monument Avenue 10K – Take Two | The Sassy Swan

  6. Pingback: Friday, Fro-Yo, and Fish Tacos | The Sassy Swan

  7. Pingback: 237 Miles | The Sassy Swan

  8. Pingback: 13.1 Guide to My First Half Marathon | The Sassy Swan

  9. Pingback: Amica 19.7 Half Marathon | The Sassy Swan

  10. Pingback: Deep Fried Pickledom | The Sassy Swan

  11. Pingback: A Good 10 Miles | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

