A Potato Chip Celebration!

Here ye, here ye – Today is not just your average Wednesday…

While trying my best to keep myself in the National (insert food of choice) Day loop, I stumbled upon this helpful calender on The Nibble. As luck would have it, today is National Potato Chip Day!

Turns out, these silly days are not just random days designated by a bunch of fools, but instead actually have some sort of governmental foothold. Not only does the President have the authority to declare a commemorative day, the Senate, state legislatures, governors, and mayors can as well. Sure these decisions are backed by petitions from various industries promoting their specialty, but it’s not like these days are completely thoughtless.

Funny thing, I don’t care too much for potato chips. If they are sitting out with some tasty dip, I’ll give ’em a whirl. More than a whirl actually because you know I can’t eat just one (can anyone?). However, I can be quite a sucker when it comes to these little buggers: Grandma Utz’s Hand-cooked Potato Chips…Perfectly crispy slices of thicker cut potatoes, so laden with grease you can actually feel it on the roof of your mouth after you swallowed. Growing up, this was the chip of choice during family road trips. As you can imagine – I never buy these, but my parents do so I’ll usually sneak a few when I’m home (for nostalgic purposes).

Most of the time, I actually prefer the taste of baked chips over fried. Although they are a bit better for you they can be kind of pricey, and they really don’t last too long at my house when I do get them. So when I came across this recipe for baked sweet potato chips, I had to try.

I love all things sweet potato (see my recipe for sweet potato fries here). So this recipe was a no-brainer, plus it’s quite easy. So in honor of National Potato Chip Day, I bestow upon you my recipe for Baked Sweet Potato Chips.

First things first – get out the slicer of doom, aka the mandoline (not be be confused with the mandolin – they play lovely music but you can’t slice your potato with one).

Guillotine for your hands!

This is your warning: BE CAREFUL. Don’t try to be a hero when you get down to the nub and the safety thingy won’t let you cut anymore. I know it’s so tempting to just do it bare-handed but trust me, from experience, throw said nub away. Your un-severed fingers will thank me.

Baked Sweet Potato Chips

(Adapted from Women’s Health)

Difficulty: Easy Peasy (but heed my mandoline warning)

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato, peeled
  • Non-fat cooking spray
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • Sea Salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375°.
  • Slice the sweet potato using the mandoline about 2 cm. thick.
  • Spray a non-stick baking sheet with the cooking spray.
  • Arrange the potato slices on the sheet in single layer and spray with more cooking spray.
  • Bake for 7-10 minutes, or until they barely start to brown – flip and bake for an additional 7-10 minutes until they are lightly browned.
  • Put in bowl and sprinkle with paprika and sea salt to taste.

The Women’s Health recipe calls for a sprinkling of several different spices, I was too lazy to do that, plus I love the taste of the chips on their own. If you are feeling ambitious though, try it with my awesome sauce – its delicious!

Best thing about this recipe is its actually good for you. around 130 calories for, wait for it, the whole shebang! So dig in, guilt-free. Not to mention its cheap. Assuming you have all the other ingredients at home, your only expense is the potato.

Have a fun-filled National Potato Chip Day!

6 thoughts on “A Potato Chip Celebration!

  1. Pingback: 1/2 Marathon a Month Project | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Pancake Bites | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Super Bowl Roundup | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

