Bella and Bruin Bites

I love my dog like my child. Part of my fear of having children (sometime far, FAR in the future) involves some sort of complex I have involving the notion I cannot possibly love something (someone?) else more than I love my dog.

I have 2 dogs in my life (busy women that I am) – Bella who’ve I’ve posted a fair amount on, and Bruin – my adopted (not in the literal sense) dog who belongs to the boy.

Bella was adopted (in the literal sense) when a friend from high school posted a picture of a dog she was fostering. It was love at first sight and I drove to Charlotte, NC to snatch her up. Half weimaraner, half lab, all crazy.

Bruin is a chocolate lab, around 7 years old, that J has had since college. He’s lived through 4 years in a fraternity house (although I don’t know how), 3 years of graduate school, and a spinal surgery that left him with some gimpy hind-legs that can’t quite keep up with the rest of his body.

Living in a small apartment with 2 large dogs requires a few things: a lot of patience, a lot of food, some time management, and the ability to keep up. Bruin doesn’t get too much exercise (wobbly legs don’t make for a good runner) but I often try to run the crazy out of Bella at least 3 times a week. Thus far, an 8 mile run still hasn’t cut it.

Although it can be a huge hassle at times, in all honesty, my life wouldn’t be the same without them. Hence I present you with:

Life Lessons from The Dogs

Always stretch before a workout!

Streeeettchhhh

Dance in the rain – even if it means putting protective gear on first.

The ol' garbage bag raincoat and plastic bag hat work like a charm!

Everyone can be a little devilish at times

I'm Da Devil!

Don’t be afraid to let someone else take care of you

I feel lousy...

Smile!

I'm so happy!

Take responsibility for your actions

It 100% was not me who dragged all the clothes out of the closet and made them into my bed - no sir.

Some days, you won’t look your best.

Yikes!

Sometimes you have to carry someone other people’s baggage – don’t let it weigh you down

I'm getting pretty sick of carrying all your crap guys!

Let loose and enjoy the ride

This is the good stuff!

So in honor of my ode to dogs, Here is a little something something to make for the pups in your life:

Bella & Bruin Bites

Difficulty: Super Easy

Yields: Around two dozen treats

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup uncooked oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon Molasses

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl
  3. Knead until combined
  4. Put the dough on a floured rolling sheet. It should look something like this:
  5. Roll the dough out to about 1/3 of an inch thick
  6. Cut out treats using a cookie cutter. Any shape will do but bones are the fun (I found my cookie cutters at Hobby Lobby two for $1.00)
  7. Place treats on an unlined cookie sheet
  8. Bake 23-25 minutes or until golden (check the bottom)

Once they are done, stick ’em in an airtight container. During the holidays, I stacked a few in a pile, wrapped some ribbon and twine around them (see above) and gave them as gifts to our respective family’s pups. Feel free to let your dog feast upon them though – They have the Bella and Bruin seal of approval!

We don't mess around with our treats, see!

2 thoughts on “Bella and Bruin Bites

  1. Pingback: Birthday Balls | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

