Kettle Corn & Easter Pups

Last Monday’s post advocated for the day after road trips to be a day off from work. This Monday’s post rallies for the day after a major holiday to be off as well. Holiday’s can be exhausting but hopefully everyone had a fun and relaxing Easter weekend – I spent mine with these two Easter Bunnies:

Unfortunately, last Friday I had an incident involving a randomly reoccurring neck injury that essentially sidelines me for at least 2 days. Not only do I get to walk around like the Hunchback of Notre Dame , but even just one muscle relaxer and I’m typically rendered borderline comatose for at least 12 hours.

Also unfortunately, I slacked pretty bad in my running last week (runner’s guilt overload) and was planning to do some make-up running on Friday. Well, that didn’t quite work out due to my aforementioned neck issue which in turn left me cranky and determined to kick my own ass on Sunday (masochistic? Nah…I prefer ‘determined’) to make up for it. Did I ever. Words of the wise – don’t go for a mid-afternoon 9 mile run when its anything above 70 degrees outside and there’s not a cloud in the sky. Also, don’t go on said run following a particularly decadent brunch and especially don’t go when you’re medicated (I’ve made better decisions…)  Finally, even if you choose to overlook the first three ‘dont’s’ I beg of you to at least hydrate adequately. Dehydration does not always entail a huge thirst – for me it brings on nausea and an absolute loss of appetite. I’ve never wanted to throw up during a run until yesterday.

Eventually my appetite returned, but for only specific things (that’s usually how it works, isn’t it?). I wanted kettle corn. Oh My God, did I want some sweet and salty kettle corn and nothing else would do until I got it.  No fairs or carnivals were occurring within a 5 mile radius of my apartment so I had to tough it out and  make some myself – on the stove – and it turned out pretty damn good. Don’t worry, dear readers, here is my fool proof recipe for amusement park-like kettle corn for you to enjoy:

Stove Top Kettle Corn

Yields: 3 cups

Difficulty: Easy Peasy

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Tablespoon white sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons popcorn kernels
  • salt and sugar for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Turn an oven burner on to a little less than medium (my stove goes up to 10, I put it on 4).
  2. Using a medium size sauce pan with a lid, pour the oil into the pan.
  3. Put two popcorn kernels in with the oil and cover.

    Very complicated stuff here...

  4. The oil is hot enough when the kernels in the pan pop.
  5. Once they do, sprinkle the sugar in the hot oil followed by the remaining popcorn kernels.
  6. With the lid on top, shake the pan to coat the kernels with the oil & sugar mixture.
  7. Continue to shake the pan sporadically until the kernels start to pop – once they do continue to shake the pan until the pops slow to about 3 seconds between.

    POP!

  8. Pour the popcorn into a large bowl and sprinkle with sugar and salt to taste while still warm.
  9. Allow the popcorn to cool, and toss in the bowl to evenly distribute the salt and sugar.

Enjoy the goodness while watching your favorite T.V. show. (Hello, Mad Men).

Have a great week everyone!

One thought on “Kettle Corn & Easter Pups

  1. Pingback: Friday Sweet Treats | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

