Friday, Fro-Yo, and Fish Tacos

Happy Friday the 13th to everyone! And to all you superstitious folk who think this day may be unlucky, here’s a thought: it’s a Friday – the most favored of all the days for working stiffs everywhere. No matter how bad your day has been or may be, at the end of it, it’s still Friday therefore, all is not lost. Monday the 13th, now that’s something to be truly weary of.

Moving right along…

Last month, I made a major change in my life – I decided to give up frozen yogurt for Lent. Actually, I attempted to give up all delicious frozen treats but who was I kidding? That lasted a solid 2 weeks before I caved for some gelato on a particularly warm afternoon downtown. What can I say? My willpower suffers when creamy frozen goodness is staring me in the face.

I did stand firm on my repent from fro-yo, however, and managed to not even think about (this is a lie), gaze longingly at (also a lie), or miss (biggest lie) my treasured Menchie’s. So last night, after dinner, I packed up J and the dogs and we headed out to be reunited with my long lost frozen companion.

Although I was hopeful that a brief, cold turkey hiatus would help alleviate my nightly cravings for the good stuff, this was not the case. I missed the smell of the baking waffle bowls, the small tester cups I used to sample various flavors before always going back to my old standby – tart. I missed  the endless combination of assorted toppings to choose from, and I even missed my inevitable brain freeze stemming from my first overflowing spoonful (I never learn…).

Good to see you again old friend...It's been too long.

Again, moving right along…

You can now consider this Friday the 13th your new lucky day, because I have a recipe to share. Its quite easy and can be made up super quick. Not too mention it’s one of J’s favorite things so I assure you, it must me good.

The recipe for the slaw is adapted from this recipe from www.onceuponachef.com. The slaw itself is absolutely delicious but top it on some blackened tilapia, wrap it up with some awesome sauce in a warmed tortilla and you’ve got yourself one hell of a damn good fish taco if I do say so myself.

Asian Style Fish Tacos

Yields: 4 tacos

Difficulty: Slightly more difficult than Easy Peasy mostly because there are so many ingredients and lots of chopping to be done.

Ingredients:

Taco Fixings:

  • 4 tilapia filets (or any white, mild fish)
  • 4 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon powdered ginger
  • 4 soft tortilla shells
  • Awesome Sauce (optional)

Asian Slaw

For the Dressing:

So many ingredients equals lots-o-flavor!

  • ¼ cup honey
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup unseasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Asian sesame oil
  • 1½  tablespoon peanut butter
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoon minced fresh ginger (I’m borderline obsessed with ginger so if you are not, feel free to adjust accordingly)
  • 2 large garlic clove, minced

For the Slaw:

  • 1 16 oz. bag prepared shredded coleslaw
  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 red pepper, sliced and cut bite size pieces
  • 1 cup edamame. I buy the frozen kind in the pod and have to shell them. If you haven’t had edamame before  it looks like a snap pea with fun little pods inside:
  • 4 medium scallions, finely chopped at an angle
  • 1 cup loosely packed chopped fresh cilantro (see ginger side note, same goes for cilantro)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425°.
  2. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with non stick spray.
  3. Place the tilapia filets on the sheet and spoon 1 tablespoon soy sauce over each.
  4. Sprinkle the ginger atop the tacos to taste.
  5. Place the fish in the oven to bake – around 12 to 15 minutes (it should be opaque and flake easily at its thickest part)
  6. Meanwhile, mix all the dressing ingredients together in a blender. You can also simply whisk everything together, but this is far quicker at getting everything combined (plus any excuse to use my Magic Bullet is a good one). Set aside.
  7. Toss all the salad ingredients together in a bowl.
  8. Pour on the dressing.
  9. Toss around to evenly distribute the ingredients.
  10. Allow the salad to sit and hang in the fridge for a bit while the fish is cooking.

After the fish is done, flake the fish into a bowl and heat up your tortillas in the microwave or stove top.

Assemble tacos like so:

  1. Place fish atop tortilla.
  2. Spoon slaw atop fish.
  3. A dash of awesome sauce if you so choose.
  4. and wrap into a fun little taco pouch.
  5. Dig in!

I hope you all have a wonderfully perfect weekend!

One thought on “Friday, Fro-Yo, and Fish Tacos

  1. Pingback: J’s Almond Bars | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

