Biscuit Fest Reject

A few weeks back, I dove head first into the great Southern art of biscuit making. For days, my kitchen was covered with a fine dusting of flour, splattered milk, and countless “test biscuits”. I spent far too much time debating oven temperatures, the benefits of using butter versus shortening, buttermilk versus whole milk, and appropriate biscuit thickness. Art indeed – it evolved more into a science.

Nonetheless, I managed to create 3 pretty tasty biscuit recipes that I was proud to submit to the International Biscuit Festival’s Biscuit Bake Off.

Sadly, none of my recipes were chosen BUT all was not lost as I managed to figure out how to make a pretty decent biscuit (a skill I had been lacking) and I had a surprising amount of fun doing so. Those trips to Benton’s Bacon and The South’s Finest Chocolate Factory? All in search of  the best biscuit ingredients. I became inspired, a girl on a mission,  and in turn was able to visit area landmarks (yes, I consider Benton’s Bacon a landmark) – all in the name of biscuits.

My Biscuit Fest rejection is now your biscuit  recipe gain as I couldn’t share my super secret creations with the world until I knew if I was competing. And honestly, since I would have CRUSHED the competition, it really wouldn’t have been fair to be involved anyway.

I ultimately entered three different recipes: Rosemary Feta Biscuits, Cardamom Raisin Biscuits with Orange Glaze, and finally  Chocolate Bacon Biscuits with Maple and Candied Bacon Glaze (yeah….). Are you drooling yet? If not, you will be when you make these:

Rosemary Feta Biscuits

Difficulty: Fairly Easy

Yields: 1 dozen

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 stick very cold, unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • ½ cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup feta cheese – crumbled
  • 2 tablespoons fresh, chopped rosemary
  • 1 egg mixed w/ one tablespoon water for egg wash

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a bowl.
  3. Add butter to the flour mixture and cut with a pastry dough blender until the mixture is crumbly and the butter pieces are around pea-size:
  4. Slowly add in the buttermilk and mix with a spoon until just combined.
  5. Stir in the rosemary and feta cheese until just combined
  6. Dump out the dough onto a well floured board and knead until the dough just comes together – don’t handle too much!
  7. Using a rolling pin,  roll out the dough to ¾ inch think and cut with a 2 ½ in. round cutter.
  8. Place the biscuits on a cookie sheet sprayed with oil.
  9. Brush the tops of the biscuits lightly with the egg wash.
  10. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until golden brown on top.
  11. Remove from  biscuits from the oven and serve warm with a side of rosemary to impress your friends and look fancy:
5 thoughts on “Biscuit Fest Reject

  1. These all look amazing! Can you share the other recipes with me? Your brother wants me to try to make them! He did drool at the idea of the chocolate bacon and maple one! :-p

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Bacon Biscuits with a Candied Bacon Glaze | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

