Cinnamon Sugar Wagon Wheels

There are several songs that define the South for me. You know what I’m talking about – those songs that come on in bars that everyone knows and provides back-up vocals for during the choruses, all while drunkenly swaying and sloshing beer on anyone within a 2 foot radius.

As a Northern bystander, I was lucky to experience this ritual first hand during my college years. Many of these songs, I had never heard – or if I had, only a few times and certainly not enough to feel confident  belting them out in the middle of a crowded venue. Cheers went up whenever the beginning cords come over the speakers and I watched in awe as the everyone around me proceeded to make asses of themselves while holding their drinks high, screaming “…sweet potato pie and I shut my mouth” to the ceiling.

Sure enough, by the time my senior year rolled around I was the jackass in the bar jumping up as the first few notes of Dixieland Delight began to play. And you bet your ass I was singing “To get drunk!” in response to Hank Williams Jr.’s inquiry as to why I drink.

One song, however, is one that I will always associate with my time down here and that’s Wagon Wheel. Oh yeah, I can hear it now… Heyyyyy Momma rock me… So nostalgic, so sweet, and I adore it.

In honor of the song, I decided to share a recipe that a college roommate shared with me. How does this even relate, you ask? Well said recipe just happens to look like little wheels. Pinwheels, yes but I love Wagon Wheel and I get my kicks where I can get ‘em.

This recipe is stupid easy. Seriously. Even dudes could do it (just be wary)* It requires 4 ingredients, like 3 dishes, and about 20 minutes. J is obsessed with these little guys. It’s really quite tragic that of all the delicious (and elaborate) things I make him, this is one of his favorites.

Cinnamon Sugar Pinwheels

Yields: Around two dozen

Difficulty: Stupid Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen pie crust – the kind you roll out, not the one already in a dish
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 & ½  tablespoons butter, slightly melted

Directions:

  1. Remove the pie crust from the freezer and allow to soften until pliable.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350
  3. Unroll the pie crust (don’t worry if it splits, just squish it back together) and use a knife or pastry brush to evenly spread the butter around the entire area of the dough:
  4. Mix the cinnamon and sugar together in a bowl and sprinkle over the buttered pie crust:
  5. Roll up the crust, pinwheel style
  6. Slice into about ½ inch slices and place on a nonstick baking sheet. They should look something like this:
  7. Bake until golden – between 12-14 minutes and revel how amazing they make your house smell.

I think they kind of look like mini cinnamon rolls, so serve them to a doting loved one with a cup of coffee for a tasty breakfast or a whenever you need a quick sweet in a pinch.

Enjoy and have a fabulous weekend!

*As my darling boyfriend is culinarily challenged (yup, just made up that word), I am under the assumption that all other dudes are as well. Honestly some of the best chefs I know are men so I mean no offense in my sarcastic hypothesis.

One thought on “Cinnamon Sugar Wagon Wheels

  1. Pingback: Friday Sweet Treats | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

