Beer Cheese

Throughout my tenure in Knoxville, I have gathered a few menu items that I would be devastated to give up. My list includes: The Tempura Roll at Nama, The Eggplant Nicole at Altruda’s, The Paprika Chicken from Linderhof and the Shrimp and Grits from Rouxbarb.

This is the food I would travel back for, the delectable tastes that evoke a slightly orgasmic moan after each bite and leave you hungry for more. These are the distinctively Knoxville restaurants assisting in the development of a wonderfully original food scene in our little town.

In addition, one more menu item stands out among the few and I place this apart from the others as this was my first ‘taste’ of Knoxville – the very first mouthful of something so original and delicious it forever imbedded itself as, what I consider, a Knoxville treasure.  This item is the beer cheese at Downtown Grill and Brewery.

Beer cheese was certainly not invented in Knoxville and from what I’ve gathered in comes in countless colors, forms, and flavors. But my first taste was at the brewery and I have yet to find another that compares.

You know I love me some cheese and let’s be realistic here, any half drunk shmuck can dump some beer in some cheese and it’s more or less guaranteed to be at least halfway decent. It’s beer and cheese for God’s sake – the world’s most perfect food and beverage. But not anyone can re-create the smooth, off-white creaminess of the slightly hoppy slurry that this All-American combination contains. Well, lucky for the world, because I’ve put a lot of time and energy into developing a comparable recipe, and I’ll be damned if it doesn’t taste exactly the same.

Not to be confused with those food detectives analyzing Coke’s secret formula and the Colonel’s 11 herbs and spices – it really wasn’t all that hard. It was more of a trial and error effort which was no effort at all really as I was able to eat a lot of cheese and drink a lot of beer in the process. If that’s not a win-win situation, I don’t know what is.

The greatest and most wonderful part about it? It’s so easy. Like, so, SO, easy. So easy in fact I find myself hesitating to share it as my “secret beer cheese recipe” could potentially make me famous. I could be the next big chain: Sassy Swan Beer Cheese, INC. Alas, J does not find this to be a lucrative business endeavor so begrudgingly share it, I will.

Beer Cheese

Difficulty: So easy a monkey could do it

Yields: 1.5 cups

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz. Easy Melt white cheese (I used Velveeta Queso Blanco)
  • ¼ cup whole milk
  • 1/8 cup beer (I used an IPA – the hoppier the better)
  • Salt if desired

Directions:

1. Cut up the cheese into cubes and place in a pan over low heat. I’m not messing around here – low heat. The cheese will scorch on the bottom before you can blink.

2. Add the milk: and stir frequently allowing the cheese to melt until it becomes creamy:  (this should take between 5 – 10 minutes)

2.Remove the cheese mixture from the heat and add the beer.

3. Stir to incorporate. It should fizz up and then die down.

4. Add salt if you wish – I did not.

5. Serve warm

You can serve beer cheese with pretty much  anything. DG&B serves there’s with my accompaniment of choice – soft pretzels and honey mustard. The saltiness and softness of the pretzel combined with the sweetness of the mustard add dimensions of flavor to the beer cheese that I can’t get enough of.  Another restaurant in town with comparable beer cheese, Calhoun’s, serves theirs with tortilla chips. I’ve had it with pretzel sticks, crackers, and vegetables trust me – it’s all good. So enjoy friends, go make it immediately and enjoy a little bit of Knoxville for yourself.

7 thoughts on “Beer Cheese

  1. Pingback: Sassy Swan Sangria | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Tailgate Friday: Pumpkin Beer Cheese | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Super Bowl Roundup | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: One Year Later | The Sassy Swan

  5. Pingback: A Good 10 Miles | The Sassy Swan

  6. I lived in Knoxville for seven years, and I was so excited to find your Beer Cheese Recipe this morning. I haven’t found a replacement for the DG&B’s beer cheese, either, and I can’t wait to give this a try!

    And I’m right there with you on Nama’s tempura roll. Anything from Nama, really. I miss it so much.

  7. Pingback: {8-6-5} Guide to Knoxville, Part I | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

