BST Salad

One of the many reasons I love summer is the abundance of delicious produce. Georgia peaches are just coming into season and that first bite of a sweet summer peach can only be described as heavenly.  I’m not exaggerating when I tell you I’ve eating at least a dozen in the past 7 days – you fellow peach lovers know what I’m talking about. During these months, the majority of my grocery budget is spent on all the fresh  fruits and veggies I can get my little hands on.

Also, this seems to be the time of year when anyone who has a garden is happy to share the fruits of their labor with others who are less fortunate (and lack an actual lawn). So when our out-of-town friends came to visit this weekend baring these little devils, I was thrilled!

Compliments of D&M Cheese

These are actually pear or teardrop tomatoes and are very similar in flavor to regular cherry tomatoes. Sweet, slightly acidic, and terribly addicting. We munched on these suckers all weekend and still had a big bag left come Sunday evening.

Now, there are few better things on a warm summer day then a bacon, lettuce & tomato sandwich. However, they aren’t exactly the easiest thing to make with little  baby tomatoes. I’ve tried it, it’s just too messy. So I figured, why not ditch the bread and see what kind of salad I could throw together? I replaced the ‘L’ part with some Spinach because frankly that’s what I had in my fridge and also it adds a bit more nutritional value than say, iceberg or romaine lettuce. I immediately negated aforementioned nutrition by utilizing bacon drippings as the base for my bacon vinaigrette (how pre-diabetic Paula Dean of me) and came up with this tasty salad:

BST (Bacon, Spinach, & Tomato)  Salad

Yields: 4 servings

Difficulty: Easy Peasy

Ingredients:

  • Bag-o-spinach
  • 24 cherry or pear tomatoes, halved
  • 4 strips of bacon
  • 1&1/2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • dash of freshly cracked pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard
  • 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

Directions:

  1. Place the bacon strips in a pan and begin to fry them over medium heat. You want them to be crispy so this should take about 5-7 minutes.
  2. While waiting for the bacon to fry, mix sugar, salt, pepper, mustard and vinegar into a bowl until the sugar is dissolved. Also, place  the spinach and tomato halves into a large bowl – set both aside.

    Look at all the pretty colors…

  3. Once the bacon has been “crispified” remove the strips to a paper towel and allow to cool.
  4. Turning off the heat to the bacon pan, pour the vinegar mixture into the drippings. If you would like to clear your sinuses, feel free to stick your head over the warm pan and inhale. Otherwise, breath with caution.
  5. Whisk the bacon dripping/vinegar mixture together for about a minute.
  6. Immediately pour the warm mixture over top the spinach and tomatoes and toss.
  7. Crumble the bacon using your hands or a knife and sprinkle over the top of the salad.
  8. Serve immediately.
2 thoughts on “BST Salad

  1. Pingback: Sassy Swan Sangria | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Cabbage Salad | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

