Bod Pod Part Deux

Ah, summertime – a time for relaxation, enjoying the great outdoors, and in my case, stuffing your face with all that is delicious and good. My name is Kate, and in July I overdosed on food.

Just some of what July brought to my belly…

Between the beach trips, birthday bonanzas, boat days, and sweet summertime cocktails, I’ve definitely been slacking in the healthy eating department. Although I hold summertime fare near and dear to my heart (nothing beats an icy Corona on a boat, a hearty helping of potato salad at a BBQ, or that second and third slice of cake on one’s birthday) it will inevitably catch up to you – even if you are running a half marathon a month.

After my initial Bod Pod experience, I returned to the Health Shoppe to meet with Eddie for an hour to go over my numbers and talk about the  best ways to physically meet my goals. I originally felt that allotted hour was generous and assumed I would be out sooner, but I wasn’t. Eddie was extremely knowledgeable and detailed when it came to all aspects of my new workout and diet plan and I left with high hopes for the coming months.

So lets talk goals  for a moment. It’s no secret I have plans to run a full marathon – personal goal #1, I would like to get do a sub 2 hour 1/2 marathon – personal goal #2, and I know a little more effort on my part could help to bring out my abs that seems to be hidden beneath a layer of residual cupcakes – personal goal #3.

After discussing these with a very positive and receptive Eddie, he proceeded to inform me that not only was I going to run a  sub 2 hour 1/2, I was going to run one in an hour 45. Oh yeah? Well how the hell am I going to do that?? Apparently, I’m  going to change my diet and work harder.

Remember this?

You can see Eddie’s goals for me written in the top. Essentially he wants me to lose 7 pounds of fat and gain 10 pounds of muscle. Making me into Wonder Women. How do I do this? Let’s walk through it…

Exercise:

Strength Training – 2 times a week for one hour. Alternating between shoulders & arms (40 minutes biceps and 20 minutes triceps) and back & Legs

Running – 4 times a week. A long run weekly, upping the mileage each week. A hill run (mile warm up, 2-3 miles of hills, mile cool down). Rotate between speed work & a mid-range tempo run, and an easy run.

Diet:

With the aforementioned activity, my active metabolic rate should around 1900 calories a day. As a result, I should be eating somewhere between 1600 and 2100 calories per day, greater on the days where I have big workouts.

6 small meals a day, protein with each meal plus a gallon of water. Each meal will be a combination of protein, complex carbohydrates, fruits & greens, and healthy fats.

This means bye-bye to refined sugars &  processed foods and hello to my new best friends: Ezekiel Bread, Greek yogurt, avocados, eggs, almonds, oatmeal, cottage cheese and Kashi cereal.

This, of course, is not what I am limited to but some of my favorites from the list Eddie provided me with. Thankfully, I was blessed with a great love for most all fruits and veggies so I benefit greatly from all the in-season produce that summer provides.

There will be cheat days (I actually get one a week) and I’m still going to be making cupcakes (have no fear – there will always be cupcakes) I’m not going a little easier now-a-days. And honestly, the most difficult aspect of this so far is drinking a gallon of water a day. I kid you not, I took 3 bathroom breaks while writing this post – a new record – and I constantly feel like a water balloon. The way I see it, at least I’m clocking in some extra cardio from round the clock walks to the loo and back.

7 thoughts on “Bod Pod Part Deux

  1. Pingback: Hot Topics | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Creamy Avocado and Shrimp Pasta | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

