Creamy Avocado and Shrimp Pasta

Often when I find myself with an abundance of something in the kitchen, I turn to your favorite and mine, Pinterest for inspiration. The glories of Pinterest still amaze me.  I mean really? Who comes up with some of these ideas, pictures, hilarious E-Cards, and the 47 uses for wine corks?

It matters not. What does matter is I now have the ability to simultaneously browse through  fun blogs and find an original recipe for dinner – which is exactly what I did last night.

The apartment is currently being overrun by avocados:

Avocado Attack!

My new “diet” has be stuffing my face with the healthy fats, J loves them, and they were on sale to boot. As the avocados run rampant, I find myself searching for any excuse to use them. Nothing irks me more than having to throw away produce that didn’t get eating quickly enough.

While rummaging around on Pinterest for a recipe to try that wasn’t guacamole, I came across one from Flourishing Foodie for creamy avocado pasta. Not only did it look awesome (perhaps due to her crazy good photography) but it was easy, healthy, and I could whip up some sort of similar version with stuff I already had in my cupboards. Ugh – dinners that do not require an additional trip to the store are the greatest.

As I mentioned – I made a few adjustment because I really, really, did not want to venture back out, and it turned out surprisingly tasty and filling. Now due to my adjustments, you may think it seems like all I did was slather guacamole on pasta (which sounds pretty gross) but I promise it didn’t taste like that at all. It was creamy and tangy and the shrimp and tomatoes added a touch of sweetness that really tied the dish together. I’m also advocating this dish because, as I already said, it was really quick and easy but looks pretty fancy if I do say so myself.

Creamy Avocado and Shrimp Pasta


Yields: 4 servings

Difficulty: Very easy

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup sun dried tomatoes
  • 2 avocados, skinned with the seed removed
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 20 fresh, uncooked shrimp – peeled and de-veined
  • 4 servings of whole wheat pasta (I happened to have penne on hand, but J thinks it would have been better with fettuccine so whatever floats your boat)
  • 1 cup reserved pasta water
  • freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • cherry tomatoes for garnish
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Place the sun-dried tomatoes in a bowl of luke warm water and set aside
  2. In a food processor, add avocados, lime juice, 2 tablespoons olive oil,  garlic cloves, and salt. Combine the ingredients until creamy.
  3. Cover the avocado mixture and put in the refrigerator until ready to use.
  4. Set a pot of water to boil on the stove and preheat the oven to broil
  5. Cool the pasta until al dente
  6. While the pasta is cooking, prep the shrimp if necessary. Blot with a paper towel in a baking dish and combine with 1 tablespoon olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Broil the shrimp for about 4 minutes until opaque, flipping once.
  8. Once the pasta is done cooking, drain – reserving one cup of the pasta water – and put the pasta pack in the pot on a cool burner and cover while you prep the other ingredients.
  9. Remove the sun-dried tomatoes from their bath and give ’em a good chop.
  10. I saved 3 shrimp per plate for presentation purposes and chopped the rest. Feel free to chop them all  if you aren’t feeling fancy.
  11. Stir in the avocado mixture with the warm pasta and gradually add the pasta water until a smooth and creamy sauce forms – for me this took only about 1/3 cup but it’s up to you.
  12. Toss in the shrimp and sun-dried tomatoes and stir to coat.
  13. Add salt and pepper to taste.

To plate, I scooped out a serving of pasta, topped with with a good sprinkling of Parmesan cheese, threw on a few whole shrimps and a couple of cherry tomatoes that I halved.

Mmm good stuff right there.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado and Shrimp Pasta

Leave a Reply

