Früsh Fun

Sometimes I like to switch things up a bit:

I’ll go crazy and wear my hair down.

I’ll take a walk on the wild side and actually paint my fingernails a color besides clear.

I’ll get really out of control and wear my sassy pants around town.

And sometimes, I’ll keep my co-workers on their toes by bringing in something besides the habitual cupcakes. Behold:


Last week, a company sent me a new drink to try out – and they weren’t messing around. A seriously huge cooler arrived on my doorstep containing 20 some odd bottles of früsh to distribute and enjoy with some colleagues – and enjoy we did. Actually, J got his hands on it first and guzzled a bottle of the blueberry flavor. He managed to take a few seconds between sips to express what a great on the go breakfast this was and ask if he could he have another.

I would also like to point out that he enjoys color coordinating his outfits with his drinks…

I tried one next, peach flavored, and the best way I think to describe it would be a more liquid-y yogurt:  fruity, creamy, and surprisingly filling.

Actually, früsh is exactly that – yogurt blended with fruit. They also throw in some TruCal (a calcium extract) and HOWARU (a probiotic extract) for some extra added health benefits. Also, each bottle touts about 9 grams of protein – yay protein! Früsh comes in four flavors: The aforementioned blueberry and peach (my personal favorite), as well as strawberry and strawberry banana.

So there’s the first benefit of the drink – it’s a quick and tasty on-the-run breakfast. Onward to the office where my co-workers were happy to try out their cupcake alternative.

Now, please believe me that if someone said something even remotely negative about the stuff, I would tell you. But they didn’t. Maybe everyone forgot their breakfast and were grateful for provisions or maybe everyone was just in a really great mood – but not one person had anything but praise. In fact several went back for another bottle to try a different flavor (freeloaders).

The point is, früsh is legit good. The only problem I could find was that it was a bit higher in the calorie count than I would have liked. Each flavor came in at around 200 calories per 8 oz. bottle. Not too bad if the drink is enough to suffice for a breakfast or snack.

Feeling particularly creative, I decided to utilize some of my leftover früsh supply and whip up a protein shake. As it is the last day of national peach month (see previous peach recipe here), and I have a soft spot in my heart for the peach flavored früsh, I decided a peach cobbler shake was in order.

Peach Cobbler Protein Shake

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup peach flavored früsh
  • 1/2 of a peach or equivalent amount of slices (frozen if possible)
  • 1 scoop vanilla flavored protein powder (I used Designer Whey)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • Ice

Directions: (not that I really need describe to you how to make a shake…)

  1. Add früsh, peach slices, protein powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and handful of ice to a blender.
  2. blend until ice is crushed
  3. Taste, add more ice if necessary
  4. Blend some more
  5. Drink up the goodness

Moral of the story? If you’re out moseying around the grocery store and staring slack-jawed at the plethora of possible drink options, definitely grab a früsh and give it a try.

Happy Friday everyone! Have a safe and happy weekend and Go Vols!

Leave a Reply

