Tailgate Friday: Orange Crushcakes

So here’s the scoop:

My Vols are playing Florida in less than 48 hours and I am like a tween in line for a Twilight flick. I am pumped. The sold out crowd of ticket holders are pumped. Hell, ESPN is so pumped about it they are hosting Gameday here. To say this is a big game would be an understatement and I even took Friday off from work to, er, prep or something.

Obviously treats are in order. My Orange and White Checkerboard Cookies were a hit so I wanted to stick with my orange theme – for tailgating purposes. I also am aware that not all of my readers are Volunteer fans (some might actually be gator fans…yikes) so although these beauties are orange – they were actually created for a drink I had while up in Virginia Beach a few weeks ago. The Orange Crush.

Beware. If you are up in that area proceed with caution. These mighty cocktails are the elusive and delicious type where the alcohol taste goes undetected until you have one too many, stand up, and realize your legs don’t work like they’re supposed to. Whoops.

A concoction of  fresh squeezed orange juice, orange infused vodka, triple sec, and a splash-o-Sprite, they are served atop pellet ice and gulped relentlessly by unsuspecting tourists (ie, me). I’m convinced the pellet ice makes all the difference and forced J to go pick up a bag from our local Sonic so I could make my own throughout the weekend.

You can find the recipe for the cocktail here, but I am seriously telling you to be wary. These will knock your socks off with their delicious and refreshing awesomness and then proceed to knock you on your ass with the amount of booze you didn’t know you just drank.

Now, if you have read this blog even a little, you know I enjoy liquoring up my cupcakes. Given the current state of Vol-frenzy that’s taking over my fair town, Orange Crush cupcakes were an inevitable creation. Behold:

Orange Crushcakes


Yields: 2 dozen

Difficulty: Medium

Ingredients:

For the Cupcakes

  • 1 box white cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup Sprite
  • 1/2 cup Triple Sec
  • 1 tsp grated orange peel

For the Vodka Buttercream (yup. Vodka. Buttercream.)

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 5 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
  • 3 Shots orange flavored Vodka (I used Smirnoff)
  • 1 tsp grated orange peel
  • Orange food coloring (or yellow and red)

Directions:

For the Cupcakes

  1. Preheat the oven to 375
  2. Fill muffin tins with 24 liners
  3. In a bowl, mix box mix, melted butter, egg whites, Sprite, Triple Sec, and orange peel with a mixer until for 3 minutes.
  4. Pour the batter into the muffin tins, about 2/3 full
  5. Bake for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean
  6. Cool the cupcakes on a wire rack

For the Buttercream

  1. Cream the butter and sugar together
  2. Add orange juice and peel, mix
  3. Add the shots of vodka (yes I actually used a shot glass  rather then a normal measurement because I’m baller)  one at a time, mixing the frosting between shots
  4. Add food coloring (6 drops yellow to 2 drops red) until the desired shade of orange is reached
  5. Spread atop cooled cupcakes. I used a piping bag, but if you’re feeling lazy, feel free to spread it on manually. No judgement here.

It needs to be noted that I attempted to make white chocolate Filigree Power T’s to put atop of my creations. Key word: attempted. First my piping bag exploded. Then my non-stick pan liner stuck and destroyed the few I did manage to make. THEN after taking my broken pieces and trying to re-melt them, I scorched it and ruined the stupid chocolate. Out of that whole debacle I got 6 almost decent looking filigrees. Another Recipe Fail.

But hey, it’s the thought that counts. GO VOLS!

2 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: Orange Crushcakes

  1. Pingback: You lose some… | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: One Year Later | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

