Tailgate Friday: Pumpkin Smudgies

Oooh I bet you thought my ‘Tailgate Friday‘ segment was kaput didn’t you? Well a fair-weather fan, I am not! One horribly miserable little loss isn’t going to stop me from happily trotting downtown this Saturday to tailgate once again. No sir. Unless of course it rains, in which case I will be enjoying my ‘tailgate’ from the comfort of my living room. Vol For Life, bitches.

I was torn regarding what make this Friday as it’s that weird in-between season time when you can feel the season’s changing but the weather is still unpredictable. It can be cool and beautiful one day, and hotter than hell the next. This rules out all my warm goodies until a later time. For now, we’ll stick with the cold ones because, in Tennessee, an Indian Summer is more or less inevitable.

I found this random recipe on the Pinterest (I oft add definite articles in front of store names and frequented websites i.e. The Walmart, The Facebook, The Kroger – sorry) and was shocked when it got like a billion repins.  It’s pretty stupid, really – they’re called “Smudgies” and consist of a mushed up banana and some peanut butta, smushed between 2 graham crackers and frozen. So stupid…and easy…and cheap…and delicious! Who doesn’t love bananas, PB, and grahams? Nobody that’s who.

You know what else nobody doesn’t like? No, not Sara Lee…Pumpkin Pie! And If you don’t like pumpkin pie, then you don’t like the pilgrims, and therefore you don’t like America. So you better get to liking it, commie.

So we love pumpkin pie, right? and we love these smudgie things right? LIGHTBULB! Pumpkin Pie Smudgies! It’s quite brilliant really, they will inevitably be delicious AND they are orange – I’m no fool, these are tailgate treats!

Now I tried mixing the pumpkin with a banana, then with peanut butter, then with a banana AND peanut butter, and in the end, it was straight pumpkin that won my heart. This also keeps the calories of these little delights low (only 175 per serving of 2). Small, portable, low-calorie, frozen treats that taste like mini pumpkin pies and are super easy to make?? Forget Kale and Quinoa, this is the real superfood right here.

Pumpkin  Smudgies

Yields: This recipe makes 2 – increase accordingly for a larger batch

Difficulty: Stupid Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 tablespoon milk (I used almond)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 4 graham cracker halves

Directions:

  1. Add the first 4 ingredients in a bowl and mix thoroughly
  2. Plop half the mixture on one graham, the other half on another (‘plop’  is a very technical term)
  3. Smush the other graham halves on top
  4. Freeze
  5. Eat while cheering on your favorite Orange team (GO VOLS…and Hokies I suppose)
3 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: Pumpkin Smudgies

  1. OKay…I despise pumpkin pie..crap. Score one point for America…but because I hate PB more I was determined to find an alternative to PB and banana Smudgies. Hence my click to your recipe:) And I just realized I have some Biscoff in the pantry, so the lightbulb comes on and I’m on a mission! Thanks…err, no thanks? for your help!

Leave a Reply

