Tailgate Friday: Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

Another Friday is upon us. Another weekend filled with crisp (ish) autumn weather, leaf-spotting:  and oh yes…football. Sadly the Volunteers are away this weekend (to beat the Bulldogs at Georgia) so although I will not be legitimately tailgating down at the stadium, I am still cooking up a batch of something tasty, portable, and tailgate approved in my crock pot.

Crock pots, in theory, are brilliant. You throw a bunch of shit (not literal shit, that would be gross and weird) in the thing, plug it in, and let it hang out for hours cooking, and stewing, and making all kings of deliciousness happen. This, of course, is extremely beneficial for us working stiffs who can  return home to a wonderful smelling house and dinner already done.

Unfortunately, I fail to utilize the brilliant mechanism that is the Crock Pot as much as I should because I suck. There is thousands of recipes (seriously, Google it) out there designated solely to the culinary wonders that the Crock Pot can produce – and I use mine for only two things: Chili, and Chicken Tacos.

In my defense, my chili rocks and my tacos are phenomenal (I served them at my Super Bowl Party) and I’d rather make two killer meals then ten mediocre so I guess I’m the real winner here. Unless you have the most amazing Crock Pot recipe ever, in which case, please divulge so I can expand on my Crock Pot repertoire.

Enough with the Crock Pot ramblings. We have tacos to discuss.

I cannot take credit for this recipe at all. I found the seasoning recipe  here and the coordinating taco recipe here about 6 years ago, and will never change it because it’s perfect. First you have to make the seasoning mix, which although it requires lot’s of ingredients, is extraordinary simple and keeps pretty much indefinitely. That’s the hard part, but I promise that it its 100% worth it to make your own taco mix. After that it’s smooth sailing into the seas of chicken taco bliss.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

Yields: About 6 good sized tacos

Difficulty: Stupid Easy

Ingredients:

Taco Seasoning:

1/4 cup dried onions, minced

1/4 cup chili powder

1 tablespoon salt

4 teaspoons corn starch

1 tablespoon dried garlic, minced (or use garlic powder)

1 tablespoon cumin, ground

1 tablespoon red pepper flaked (crushed)

2 teaspoons beef bouillon granules

1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano

Chicken Tacos*:

1 pound chicken breast (I rarely weigh this and just throw in two breasts)

1 cup chicken broth

3 tablespoons taco seasoning mix

Directions:

Taco Seasoning:

Combine all the ingredients

Store in an airtight container

Chicken Tacos:

Add taco seasoning to the chicken broth and stir for a few seconds to dissolve

Place the chicken breasts in the crock post and pour over seasoning/broth mixture

Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours

Using a fork, shred the cooked meat into pieces

and serve with your favorite taco toppings!

*You can also make beef tacos with this seasoning if that’s your thing. Just add 2 tablespoons of the seasoning mix to 1 pound cooked and drained beef and 1/3-1/2 cup water. Cook until done.

Happy Friday guys! Ole!

5 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

  1. Pingback: Tailgate Friday: Brrr it’s Chili | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Thankful Things – Part I | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Super Bowl Roundup | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: J’s Almond Bars | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

