Tailgate Friday: Brrr it’s Chili

Brrr, it sure is chili outside!

Actually, it’s currently 77 outside and in my book, upper 70’s does not chilly make. But if any of you caught my little play on words & photos (I’m a bona fide pun-lover) then – you guessed it – this post is dedicated to Chili.

I feel like Chili is synonymous with autumn – sitting at home on a cool evening with a bowl of chili and a bottle of beer is one of greatest things about fall. Something even better? It can be made in my beloved, yet scarcely used, crock pot. And it’s one of those things that seems to get better as it sits so a whole batch can last through a weeks worth of lunches.

Or, if you are in a place that is actually chilly, a hot crock pot full of the stuff is an oft-welcomed sight at any tailgate.

I prefer my chili to be made with chicken for a few reasons: 1. It’s healthier and far less greasy that ground beef and 2. I think it tastes better. To each their own, however, as I know there are more than a few die-hard “won’t eat chili unless it has ground beef in it” chili buffs out there. So throw in some ground beef if that’s your prerogative, I won’t judge and I’m sure it will still be delicious.

The best thing about this recipe is that it requires little to no effort on your end aside from  using that dang blasted can opener (am I the only one that has issues with those things?) to pop open a few cans. You really do just throw everything in the crock and peace out. I mean, you have to come back eventually but you can give it a good 5 hours.

Once your chili is done, be sure to top it off with all kinds of tasty options. J’s a fan of sour cream, cheddar cheese, and hot sauce. I LOVE cilantro in my chili and – this is so bizarre, I know – a spoonful of sugar.

Oh and if you are looking for an amazing cornbread to accompany your pot-o-goodness (and who isn’t?) this honey cornbread recipe from Young Married Chic is seriously the best I’ve ever had. Seriously. Super easy and really good, that’s what were shooting for here folks.

Crock Pot Chicken Chili (adapted from this Nutritious Eats recipe)

Difficulty: Easy Peasy

Yields: 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 1(14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes with basil, oregano & garlic
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 (15 ounce) can white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (15 ounce) can chili beans, drained slightly
  • 1 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 package taco seasoning
  • 1 lb chicken breast (I used two decently sized breasts)

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients in the crock pot except the chicken.
  • Place chicken breasts on top and cover slightly with chili mixture.
  • Cook for 5 hours on low.
  • Remove chicken breasts and shred the meat into bite size pieces (it will be hot to be careful!)

    So pretty, huh?

  • Add chicken back to the crock pot and cook additional 2 hours
  • Serve with your choice of toppings
One thought on “Tailgate Friday: Brrr it’s Chili

  1. Pingback: Super Bowl Roundup | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

