Shady Races

On Monday I mentioned something about how the half marathon I was scheduled to run last weekend got cancelled. And at the current moment, I am unsure if the race was cancelled, rescheduled for December, or just some shady scam. Regardless, I did not run as planned last Saturday. This makes the 2nd race this month that I have paid for and not run.

Excuse me while I go pick some more dollars off of my money tree.

So there I was, in the middle of October with two remaining weekends left to find a race to run. Well this coming weekend just won’t do. Not only had I already made commitments, but its the 3rd Saturday in October – UT vs. Alabama. Although I would be kidding myself to optimistically proclaim that my mighty Vols will pull off a win against the Crimson Tide, I am 99% sure what the outcome of this game will actually be. But it matters not, as I will be at Neyland Stadium, bedecked in orange anyhow. Feel free to judge me for my lack of commitment, but tailgating trumps half marathons in my book.

This left the last weekend in October for me to find a race. Preferably one that was cheap due to my loss of not one, but two race entries. And also one that was close by. Well look what I found… The Haunted Half Marathon in Kingsport, TN. A cheap, nearby race that includes running in costumes! Things are looking up!

I’m pretty excited about this race as this will be the fist cold (ish) race I’ve run since April which in my world, means better times. Also it’s flat. I’m aiming high here folks. But not too high, as my lackadaisical training is beginning to take its toll.

Lackadaisical may be too generous actually…let’s go with non-existent for the time being. I honestly don’t know what has gotten into me lately, but I have just put off running like its nobody’s business. I always have an excuse (usually that I’m tired) something always comes up (cocktails after work anyone?) Or I put it off all day until, whoops, the day’s over (I’ll run in the morning…I’ll run at lunchtime…I’ll run after work…I’ll run after dinner…).

In my prime!

I need help. Or at least motivation. So runners, walkers, people who manage to do any physical activity that requires at least mild commitment – how to you stay focused? I feel like I was on my A game during training for my first half and now, coming up on my 6th (!!), I feel quite apathetic about the whole training process. Kind of like this…

Help get me motivated guys!, because sadly, even running 13.1 miles in a roaring good costume (hint, hint) isn’t cutting it…

6 thoughts on “Shady Races

  1. Yay! I’m from Kingsport 🙂 I, too, have run into a lack of motivation. Not sure if it’s the cooler weather, football season, or what. But I missed my training runs yesterday and today. I’m having surgery tomorrow and won’t be running for at least a week, so I think that was my excuse. Ugh! I hope you find some motivation, and if so, please send some my way! 🙂 GO VOLS!

    • Hi Kingsportian! Are you running in this race? I honestly thought that this cooler weather would entice me to get out more and it’s had the opposite effect. All I want to do is curl up on the couch with a mug of hot chocolate…

      • Not running, as I live in Nashville. But the group that organizes their races is great. I don’t think you will be disappointed! Enjoy!

  2. If you have Netflix…this might help …. “30 for 30 : Into the Wind” …it is just under an hour long so maybe watch it tonight and see if you have any motivation to wake up in the morning and get out for a quick run.

  3. Pingback: Headphones and Playlists | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: Goth kid lion meat | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

