Tailgate Friday: Pumpkin Beer Cheese

While trying to figure out what delicious concoction I wanted to create for this week’s Tailgate Friday, I wanted to focus on current things I’m loving. So I made a list. And it looked like this:

Complex, huh? After some pondering, I noticed that these three items are the culinary equivalent to some mathematical property where the result of any two of these ingredients creates something that I would, in fact, happily consume.

Example:

  • Beer + Cheese = Beer Cheese (there a post for that)
  • Beer + Pumpkin = Pumpkin Beer (more on this in a moment)
  • Pumpkin + Cheese = If you’ve never had the good fortune to have pumpkin and goat cheese together you are truly missing out…

After having my mind blown by this analysis, I came to the conclusion that if I added all three ingredients together, it was a scientific guarantee that I would like it. And the idea for pumpkin beer cheese was born.

First, we need the perfect pumpkin beer. I’ve had a lot in my day but if you take away anything from this blog post, let it be this: Pumking is the best pumpkin beer IN THE WORLD.

Okay…So I may be a smidgen bias due to the fact that the brewery that creates this heavenly beverage (Southern Tier Brewing Company) is actually from the town I grew up in. And not just the town – like the suburb of the town. Point is, it’s extraordinarily accessible – if you are in New York. Hell, its accessible pretty much anywhere, except Tennessee. Due to some exorborant taxes and uptight bible-beaters, our craft beer selection is particularly limited.

Unless, of course, you have a bootlegger for a mother!

Ahh, she knows me so well and surprised me with a couple bottles (swaddled in bubble wrap for safety purposes) when I was home last weekend.

So I had the beer. Now I need cheese. I thought about doing something fancy – a goat cheese mixture of some sort – but then it just got too fussy and I wanted to keep it easy and simple. Pre-shredded Sharp Cheddar it was! I also considered buying a pumpkin and roasting it and immediately shot it down. Canned pumpkin is so much damn easier…

Enough with this babble. You’ve got PBC to make!

Pumpkin Beer Cheese

Yields: 4 cups

Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 teaspoons sage
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 cup pumpkin beer of choice (you really should use Pumking…just saying)
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon hot sauce (I used Frank’)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

Directions:

  1. In a large fry pan, melt the butter until bubbly
  2. Put in minced onions and garlic and simmer until translucent
  3. Add in salt, pepper, sage and allspice. Stir and continue to saute for 3 minutes.
  4. Deglaze the pan by slowly pouring the beer in. Be sure to scrape up all the good bits.

    Please take note of my seasonally appropriate spatula. It is not a real spider…

  5. Lower the heat and stir in brown sugar, worcestershire, and hot sauce.
  6. Allow the beer mixture to simmer for about 7 minutes.
  7. Add in the pumpkin puree and stir to incorporate.
  8. Finally, add the shredded cheese, a handful at a time, stirring until melted after each addition.
  9. Serve with your corn chip of choice (but we all know Frito scoops are the best) and pretzels

Feeling creative? Scoop out a small pumpkin and serve it in that. At the very least, it’s one less dish you have to clean up.

Have a wonderful weekend!

6 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: Pumpkin Beer Cheese

  1. Pingback: Christmas Favorites | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Super Bowl Roundup | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Tap Takeover | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: Tailgate Friday: Pumpkin Beer Muffins | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

