Pumpkin Protein Oatmeal

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and is super glad to be back to the grind today…like me. Super glad…

Anyways, I spent my weekend watching the Vols lose (to Alabama so it wasn’t nearly as heartbreakingly unexpected as the “Florida Debacle“) and carving up some pretty fantastic pumpkins…

And since we are talking pumpkins, let’s talk breakfast as well. I am particularly meticulous when it comes to my breakfast. I MUST make my own coffee: whole beans, freshly ground, poured into my trusty thermos and hauled off to be enjoyed with a splash of almond milk in my Anthropologie ‘K’ mug once I reach the office. This is not so much an obsessive compulsive thing as it is a comforting morning ritual. At least that’s what I tell myself.

Also on work days, I don’t have time to eat breakfast before heading out the door, so 5 days out of 7 I have to make something to bring to the office or make it there. And lately I’ve been on an oatmeal kick. In fact, ever since Knoxville got a Trader Joe’s I’ve been keeping that place in business with my steel cut oat purchases. (Yes, my breakfast oats must be steel cut). They also have to made on the stove. Why? Because I find a microwave unpredictable and they make my oats explode.

Here’s the thing about oatmeal. It is one of the few things that keeps me full until lunch time. It’s also perfect pre-long run fuel. It’s chock full of  carbs and soluble fiber that keeps full and your blood sugar stable. And we like that.

So where does the pumpkin tie into all this? Well, not only is it seasonally appropriate, its low in calories, high in vitamin A, and it has more cramp busting potassium then a banana. That, and I find that this time of year I hoard cans of pumpkin like I’ll never see them again. Current cant count: 6. Completely normal…right?

The point is, eat your oats and eat your pumpkin. Or if you are super savvy like me, eat them together, throw in an egg white, and get a good dose of protein as well.

Pumpkin Protein Oatmeal

Yields: 1 serving

Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:

  • Oatmeal (I prefer steel cut but use whatever kind you like)
  • Water (how ever much your particular oatmeal calls for)
  • 1/4 cup pureed pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tablespoon sweetener of choice (J loves brown sugar, I prefer Splenda)
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon allspice
  • dash of salt
  • Chopped almonds or walnuts (optional)

Directions:

  1. Make the oatmeal per directions on the stove top
  2. While the oats are cooking, combine pumpkin, egg white, sugar, spices and salt into a bowl – stirring until combined.

    mmmm…pumpkin goo

  3. Once the oatmeal has cooked, turn the heat on low (adding more water if necessary) and add the pumpkin mixture, stirring to incorporate.
  4. Allow the oats to cook over very low heat for an additional 5 minutes.
  5. Test for sweetness, and add additional sweetener if necessary.
  6. Top with nuts and enjoy warm.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Protein Oatmeal

  1. YUM! I can’t wait to make this. I love oatmeal and pumpkin so I’m sure this is a delicious combination. And it definitely keeps a gal full til lunch time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful post! Marvelous dahling!

Leave a Reply

