Headphones and Playlists

I have a dirty little secret. I’m going to tell you because a) it’s really no secret and b) it’s not all that dirty: I hate to run without headphones (insert dramatic gasps of horror). I have, and will, not sign up for races if headphones are “illegal”. Remember that half I did in June (why would you?), well I found out mere minutes before the the gun went off that I couldn’t wear my headphones. Annoying? Incredibly, but probably not nearly as annoying as the girl running with her ipod strapped to her arm with her music blaring for all to hear. During last month’s half, the squishy part of my earbud fell out forcing me to run 11 1/2 miles with one earbud in. Running in silence was not an option.

You see, I need to be listening to something when I run. I find that it takes my mind off any pain or fatigue that I am feeling and helps me focus on something other than my wheezing. And although this is far from any sort of real problem, I can’t help but feel slightly inferior to those earbudless purists I see that are miles ahead of me – all ‘in-tune’ with their senses, focusing on their cadence and breathing while I scuffle along to Party Rock. For my training runs, I run with audiobooks. As I obviously do those more than actual races, I find that listening to books doesn’t exactly “pump me up” but it does give me something to look forward too without the risk of hearing a song I don’t like or want to change.

But for my races – it’s music. I think if I listened to music during all my runs it wouldn’t have nearly the same effect on me. Races are when I need to be “pumped up”. I want to feel energized and each song brings a new burst of energy that can power me through 13 miles. Which is why I created a carefully timed playlist for my half marathons:

This playlist starts of pretty slow and gets more powerful as the miles go up. It’s got everything from Muse & The Black Keys to Lady Gaga and Taylor Swift. And it works. When I can actually smile around mile 10 when the perfect song I need comes on, you know it’s good.

However, I think it’s time for a few new beats to be added to the rotation and I ask you, readers, for some songs of choice for my upcoming half this Saturday. So leave me a comment, shoot me an e-mail, tweet me, whatever, I need some new tunes!!

10 thoughts on “Headphones and Playlists

  1. I posted the below on someone else’s new song request post last week…

    1)Howlin For You – Black Keys
    2)Yeah Yeah Yeah – The Sounds
    3) Rolling in the Deep – Adele
    4) H*A*M – Kanye and Jay-Z – H.A.M. means Hard As a Motherf$&^!
    5) Seven Nation Army – White Stripes
    6) Amazing – Kanye
    7) B.O.B. – Outkast …it may spaz you out it you are anything like me.
    8) Time To Pretend – MGMT – YOU ALREADY HAVE THIS ONE!
    9) Heartless – Kanye
    11) Anything Can Happen – Ellie Goulding
    12) Colours – Grouplove
    13) D.A.N.C.E – Justice
    14) Move Your Feet – Junior Senior
    15) Simian / Justice Remix – We Are Your Friends

    I haven’t been running with music in the last month or so and am hoping to running the first 20 of my marathon without it…BUT then I plan on picking a solid hour worth of mind / pain numbing uptempo “you can do it” type jams! Good luck this weekend.

  2. I just wrote about this on Sunday. I read an article that stated there are two types of runners: associators, those who focus inwardly when running, and dissociators, those who need distraction and external motivation. I’m a dissociator too…

  3. Girl- you need some Rihanna! I love Where Have You Been. It really gets me pumped up, especially if I’m running uphill! And I MUST have music to run. I left my headphones at home one day and had to run on the treadmil without music. I made it about 2 miles before packing up and heading home. It. Was. Miserable. I now keep a pair of headphones in my car AND my purse. Oh and I also vowed never to run on a treadmill again. YUCK! 🙂

  4. I listen to some similar music when I run (Kanye and Lady Gaga especially) but I also like:
    Beyoncé “Run the World (Girls)”
    Big D and the Kids Table “LAX”
    Sleigh Bells “Comeback Kid” (or most songs off their first album)
    AR Rahman & M.I.A. “O…Saya” (from Slumdog Millionaire)
    The Offspring “You’re Gonna Go Far Kid”
    No Doubt “I’m Just A Girl”
    Yelle “Je Veux Te Voir”
    Daddy Yankee “Rompe”

    And my personal favorite, “I’ll Make a Man out of You” from Mulan. Though that might just be me.

  5. Pingback: So you want to be a Runner? | The Sassy Swan

  6. Pingback: Marathon Playlist | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

