Thankful Things – Part I

As you may or may not have noticed, I have been skimping out on my ‘Tailgate Friday‘ series for the past two weeks. This is not at all due to my waning faith in my beloved Volunteers (although after last week’s heartbreak, maybe it is…but only a little). In actuality, J and I simply haven’t been home much at all, and when I am my meals of choice tend to revert back to my college days – think popcorn, ramen noodles (this Pad Thai version is amaze-balls), and egg noodles with butter & Parmesan cheese. Real gourmet stuff right there guys. And as much I would love to enthrall you with a tutorial on how to boil water, I will refrain. Thus, Tailgate Friday is on hiatus until I have some product to deliver.

Moving on… It’s November. Where the hell October went, I don’t know, but it’s officially the holiday season – or so says my part-time retail job and the wreaths being hung up as we speak outside my office. But before we can even start to think about Christmas, lets focus on this month’s holiday – Thanksgiving. I’m going to toss in a few favored holiday-recipes between now and then, but in the mean-time, I actually want to take some time and focus on what Thanksgiving is really about – being thankful. So rather than do an annoying Facebook post or tweet  each day about what I’m thankful for (which of course, I will inevitably be forgotten after a week) I’m going to do it all at once. Well, at least in a two parter. Yes, 22 things in my life that I am thankful for, one for each day leading up to Thanksgiving. I suggest, if you have time, you do the same – it’s kind of nice to put things into perspective once in a while…

Thankful Things Part I

1. The obvious – My family

2. The still obvious – J. But perhaps the less obvious, J’s infinite patience with me. I am truly thankful every single day that some poor soul actually wants to put up with my antics.

3. The even more obvious – my dogs. One of which has been spending the past few nights sleeping on top of me (she’s only 70 pounds, no biggie) in an attempt to keep warm. I think she’s just getting back at me for this.

4. J and I’s perfect Halloween costumes that I still can’t get over…. and for the record, we were silent film stars, not zombie Hitler and sidekick.

5. Having the ability to run as much as I have, without injury (knock on wood).

6. The sweet new PR I’m going to get at my race in two weeks.

7. The plane tickets we just bought for Park City, Utah in January.

8. My sweet friends, who although are all over the place (from Florida to New York and everywhere in between) I can still talk to them like we see each other every day.

9. Pies. I love pie and if Thanksgiving isn’t a time to get excited about it, I don’t know when is.

10. Living in Knoxville. It’s great to live in a city with a small-town feel. Between the football, the mountains, the lakes, and the food, Knoxville will always hold a special place in my heart.

11. Previously living in the North. I am and always will be a Northern girl. From my snarky attitude to overly aggressive driving, I will always prefer New York style pizza, my tea unsweetened, and be fiercely independent – and for that, I will always be thankful.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend! Shout out to my blogger friend Dominick who is running my dream race, the NYC marathon, this weekend. Good Luck, D!

One thought on “Thankful Things – Part I

  1. Pingback: (Mostly) Thankful Things – Part II | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

