Roasted Shrimp and Spaghetti Squash

Happy day after Election Day! Wanna talk politics??

Photo Source

Yeah, me either. Reading through my Facebook and Twitter feeds is exhausting enough. So let’s skip all that jazz for today, shall we, and keep things simple.

I love simple recipes. I especially love simple recipes that produce delicious results. No need for fancy equipment or elaborate ingredients – just basic items that you can easily go out and buy if you don’t already have around. Case and point? My recipe for Baked shrimp and spaghetti squash.

I love spaghetti squash. Not only is it healthy and full of good stuff, but its surprisingly tasty too. Also, at the ripe age of 27, still think it’s so cool that it comes out of it’s shell in strings. It’s the simple things in life I guess…

Either way, I really like the stuff and I tend to grab a few every time I’m at the store because they last for weeks without going bad and it’s a great impromptu meal when I’m on my own for dinner. I also always keep a bag of frozen shrimp in my freezer. They are fairly easy to defrost and I can toss them in a salad or pasta dish for some added protein.

This recipe serves shrimp atop of the squash, but feel free to leave the shrimp out and use the squash recipe as a side dish. It really is quite delicious.

Roasted Shrimp and Spaghetti Squash

Yields: 2 servings

Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1 spaghetti squash, cut in half length-wise, with the seeds removed
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil, split
  • 1 Tablespoon brown sugar
  • a bunch of fresh Italian Parsley (or use regular), about half cup plus more for garnish
  • 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for garnish
  • 1 dozen shrimp, thawed and de-veined
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
  2. Take the spaghetti squash halves and drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil
  3. Sprinkle each half with brown sugar and salt and pepper
  4. Get your hands dirty and rub it in good
  5. Place the squash halves, face down, on a non-stick baking pan
  6. Bake for 45 minutes or until the shell gives when pressed on
  7. Remove the squash from the oven and allow to cool
  8. Meanwhile, drizzle the shrimp with enough oil to coat and toss with salt and pepper
  9. If you are feeling lazy, use the same pan used for the squash and put the shrimp in to bake. Careful! Those suckers cook quick so about 3 minutes per side should do.
  10. Remove the shrimp and set aside.
  11. Once the squash is cool, grab a fork and remove the squash from the shell (so funl!) into a bowl.
  12. Finely chop up the bunch of parsley (start with the half cup worth and increase from there. I happen to like the flavor of parsley a lot so I use more) and add to the squash
  13. Add in the Parmesan cheese and remaining tablespoon of olive oil
  14. Stir to coat.
  15. Serve the shrimp atop the squash, sprinkle with extra parsley and cheese, and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Roasted Shrimp and Spaghetti Squash

  1. I LOVE SPAGHETTI SQUASH! It is so yummy. When I’m not feeling lazy, I also like to roast the seeds and season them. I also cheat and go to Ruby Tuesday’s (one of the few chains where I will eat) sometimes for lunch and order their sp. squash and salad bar. Very low cal but healthy and pretty filling!

Leave a Reply

