Stuffed Eggplant Parmesan

Dear Diary,

Day 37 – still no visit to the grocery store. I fear I will not be able to take this much longer. We’ve run out of Olive Oil (the horror) and squandered the remaining Parmesan cheese (bye-bye default cheesy egg noodles). We are down to one egg, a stick of butter, and some Crystal Light lemonade. Things are starting to get desperate ’round here…

Okay, so it’s not really day 37 (maybe more like 20) but because J and are lazy and have more important things to do than go to the grocery store, I am beginning to have to get creative with my meals (when I am actually home). And that’s exactly what I did last night.

I came home, I was starved, and I had an eggplant  on its last leg staring up at me from our fruit bowl (botany lesson for the day folks, eggplant is a fruit) . I always have a basket of onions and garlic sitting around, as well as cans of crushed tomatoes, and I was inspired.

Now, I love me some eggplant Parmesan but it’s time-consuming, requires lots of dishes, and I just wasn’t into investing my time with such an endeavor. So I figured I would stuff it with almost everything that goes into a good eggplant parm and bake it. Surprise! It was really good! No frying involved and made with pretty healthy stuff – not only good but good for you! My culinary creativity knows no bounds…

Stuffed Eggplant Parmesan

yields: 2 servings

Difficulty: Easy-ish

Ingredients:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • 1 large eggplant halved length-wise
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, separated
  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried basil
  • 2 teaspoons Italian seasonings
  • Salt/pepper to taste
  • 1 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon breadcrumbs
  • 1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. In a non-stick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium heat and saute onions.
  2. While the onions are sauteing, use a large spoon to remove the inner flesh of the eggplant halves, leaving a quarter-inch rim around the eggplant.
  3. Once the onions are light brown, add the eggplant, garlic, basil, Italian seasoning, salt & pepper and continue to saute, stirring occasionally for about 5-8 minutes, or until the eggplant is soft.
  4. Turn off the heat and add the tomato sauce, stirring until all heated through.
  5. In a baking dish, place the hollowed out eggplant halves and divide the tomato mixture between the two
  6. In a small bowl, mix the breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese together
  7. Sprinkle the breadcrumb mixture on top of the eggplant and drizzle with the other tablespoon of olive oil
  8. Bake for 25 minutes or until the top of the eggplant is golden brown

Serve with a side of pasta and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

