Peanut Butter Pie Greek Yogurt

Although I had an insanely amazing time while I was in Park City last week, it’s always nice to come home from a long trip and get back in the swing of things.

While I was in Utah, I did manage to run – one time. I  know, I was pretty appalled at my lack of motivation as well, BUT, I was skiing almost every day so I did get a good dose of cardio in. Also, turns out running at 9,000 feet is slightly more difficult than the 906 of Knoxville. Yikes.

Either way, I’ve found myself actually looking forward to this Saturday’s (self titled) “Ten-Miler half marathon”. Pending the weather is on my side (read: NOT rainy) I’m pretty excited to get a good long run in – especially following my disastrous December half.

I always try to eat well during the week leading up to a race. It probably doesn’t make that much of a difference but cutting out alcohol, laying off the junk food, and upping my intake of veggies and protein makes me feel better about myself.

Speaking of protein and all that good stuff, I find myself eating a lot of Greek yogurt lately. I don’t really care for the sugary muck you have to stir up from the bottom of the flavored kind so I will very rarely buy anything other than plain. But plain is just that -plain – so in an effort to make it more fun I’ve been experimenting with different ways to make it extra tasty.

Now, I actually love the flavor of plain yogurt as I enjoy tart things but I know it’s an acquired taste so I’ve come up with a super easy, and super tasty recipe that makes an awesome snack and taste almost exactly like a slice of peanut butter pie. You know, the amazing creamy peanut-buttery goodness pie that is like a billion calories but damn near worth every one? Yeah that.

Healthy Peanut Butter Pie Greek Yogurt

Peanut Butter Pie Greek Yogurt

Pin It!

Difficulty: Easy Peasy

Yields: One Serving

Calories: 190

Ingredients:

  • one 6 oz. serving cup of non fat plain Greek yogurt (I use Fage)
  • 2 tablespoons of PB2
  • 1/2 tablespoon sweetener of choice (I used Splenda)
  • 1/2 graham cracker sheet, crushed
  • 1/2 tablespoon light chocolate syrup

Directions:

  1. Combine yogurt and PB2 in a bowl and stir until all the lumps are gone.
  2. Sprinkle the yogurt with the crushed graham cracker
  3. Finally, drizzle with the chocolate syrup.

Oh man this stuff is good – especially if you have a major sweet tooth like myself and really don’t want to risk blowing your daily calories at the office vending machine. Oh, and it’s good for you. What could be better?

Have a wonderful, peanut-buttery day!

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Pie Greek Yogurt

  1. Well it looks like dessert so it must be good. As for the health kick leading up to a race…I fully understand because for some reason I do the exact same thing. Good luck this weekend if there is not another post before!

      • Who said it makes a difference?!?! I just do it because in my head I like to believe it helps me stay hydrated but I have no proof it makes any difference at all…all the “real” runners I know have a beer the night before a race.

Leave a Reply

