Love Potion {Cocktail} Friday: The Mayor

Happy Friday! Is it just me, or has Valentine’s Day somehow managed to creep up on us? It’s hard to believe that we are already a week into February.

Be that as it may, the holiday devoted to our beloveds is upon us and in an effort to hop on the bandwagon that does not include $30.00 ‘bouquets’ made entirely of candy bars (when did those become a thing?), I’m going to stick to what I know – cocktails and cupcakes. Fool proof and home-made, guaranteed to please the pant off your lucky valentine. And since it’s Friday, cocktails seemed more appropriate so cocktails it is!

First off, I cannot take credit for this drink recipe and it also require a bit of a back story, so bare with me…

Once upon a time, I dragged my sweet J to a new speakeasy in town. Here, we met Brad – our most favorite of bartenders and a true master of his craft.

IMG_6160

Hi Brad

Brad, who tolerates my endless questions about his various methods and ingredients in what he’s concocting  is one of the reason’s I make the 15 minute drive downtown on week nights. His drinks are just that good. After sampling everything (yes everything) on the Peter Kern Library’s menu, I asked him to make me something different. I told him I liked vodka. I told him I liked tart & sour things, but still sweet. Oh and I told him I was trying to keep the calories to a minimum. Then he did his thing.

I wish that I could tell you that this drink wasn’t the best cocktail I’ve ever had, because now it’s all I ever order and am hesitant to even try new things because it’s so damn good. But it is. It is literally the best drink I’ve ever had and, let’s be honest here, I’ve had plenty.

Now why is it called the mayor? Bare with me for just a bit longer, and I’ll share that story as well. Everyone out there heard of Foursquare? Yes? Good. I love Foursquare. And as any good ‘Foursquarer’ knows, the more you frequent an establishment or venue, the better your chances to establish a mayorship. Well I happen to be the Mayor of the Peter Kern Library (Since about this time last year if that gives you an idea how often I am there…) so I dubbed the drink – the mayor. I may or may not have been a little buzzed off said drinks and was convinced that “the mayor” needed some sort of mayoral prize. Thus, the mayor was born.

So ladies and gentleman, what I am sharing with you is a fantastic and magical drink sure to please that loved one in your life. Sure it’s pink, but it packs a delightful (and yet undetectable) punch that will help you through whatever kind of Valentine’s Day you have planned.

The Mayor

TheMayor

Pin It!

Yields: One Drink

Difficulty: It’s a cocktail, it can’t be all that hard

Ingredients: 

  • 6 blackberries plus more for garnish
  • 1 & 1/2 oz. simply syrup (1 part sugar to one part water, boiled until sugar is dissolved)
  • 3/4 oz. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 & 1/2 oz. Vodka
  • Ice
  • Splash of diet Sprite or Sierra Mist
  • Lemon twist

Directions:

  1. Place the blackberries in a shaker and muddle well IMG_7301
  2. Pour in simple syrup, lemon juice, and vodka
  3. Add a handful or two of ice IMG_7315
  4. Put the lid on the shaker and shake away!
  5. Pour over ice in a stemless glass, and top with lemon-lime soda of choice
  6. Garnish with blackberries and a lemon twist
  7. IMG_7305

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Love Potion {Cocktail} Friday: The Mayor

  1. That looks refreshing! I will have to try it in the summer. Ashamed to admit I use Foursquare, but I think that its awesome that the name came about in such a way. Next time you go in, have him make you a Jack Rose…if you haven’t had it already…but be careful, its a million times stronger than it tastes (since it doesn’t taste like alcohol).

  2. Pingback: Pear of the Dog Cupcakes | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Mini Key Lime Pies | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: Phone Dump | The Sassy Swan

  5. Pingback: Birthday Favorites | The Sassy Swan

  6. Pingback: End of the Radio Silence | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

