Juicy

Monday, Monday…we meet again. I hope everyone had a great weekend that didn’t go nearly as fast as mine did. It was pretty low key but still, weekends never do seem to last as long as you need them to.

Ok, I’m going to get right down to it. I’ve decided to hop on the juicing train. Details in a moment, but first I must explain a few things. Mainly why I’m doing it and my thoughts on the concept.

Last week, J came home with an armful of groceries determined to do the Dr. Oz 3-day Detox Cleanse. This was completely unexpected but he wanted to get a jump start on eating better and after reading through the ingredients and the details, it sounded reasonable enough and I wanted to be supportive. Thinking that he’d last a day at best, I (and I think even he) was pleasantly surprised when he made it through the entire 3 days. Here’s the breakdown: 4_055_3DayDetoxI was really interested to see how it effected him and if it really helped and J actually seemed to reap some benefits from the plan. He said he felt better, his appetite decreased, and he even lost a few extra pounds. He did become a bit crotchety after day 2 but I suppose that’s to be expected. Given his experience, I figured that as we now have all the necessary items in our fridge, that I would give it a whirl.

Now for my thoughts on juicing.

No photo retouching here folks...that was the actual color. GROSS!

Past Juicing attempt… AKA barf in a cup!

As a person who loves food as much as I do, I find it very difficult to support a concept which involves sipping your meals for three days straight. I also realize that I am an advocate for exercising and eating right with a few sinful treats in moderation and juicing is pretty much the opposite of this. But sometimes I don’t follow those rules and my sinful treats outweigh my healthy food and exercise regiment. I am doing this because I want to try it and see if my insatiable hankering for sweets diminishes a bit. I am also doing this because I feel like maybe my body could use a bit of a detox. What I am not doing this for is to lose any weight or change my eating habits in any extreme form.

That being said, I’m going to document this fun-filled activity for you all to read. All the good and bad stuff and report it back to you. Who knows – this could be something that I actually enjoy and can whole-heartedly pass it on to you as a good “pick me up” of sorts. Or it could be something that is God awful and I wouldn’t wish it upon anybody. Either way, you can be sure I’ll be completely honest about the good, bad, and potentially ugly. (I’ve been known to get bad cases of the ‘hangry’s’…)

As I write this, I have yet to consume an actual juice, just sipping on some green tea, whi

ch I happen to love, so all’s good for now. Here’s hoping it stays that way.

Bottoms Up!

4 thoughts on “Juicy

  1. I love juicing and recently wrote about juice detoxing too. It’s hard but you feel really good after a few days.

    But I’ll admit… I’ve made some pretty awful concoctions myself…

  2. Pingback: Juicy, Part II | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Juicy: Part III | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: Almond Bars | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

