Almond Bars

J is kind of a picky eater. He doesn’t like leftovers. He doesn’t particularly like any sort of vegetable. But there are a few things that I make that he really does love: Crock pot chicken tacos, Asian Slaw, My meatballs, and my mother’s recipe for Almond Bars. Where J is fickle with his leftovers, he makes up for in his love for these bars.

When I visit my parents, my mom loves to send me home with tasty treats. Almond bars have always been something that she can whip up easily and throw in my car on the way out the door. I remember getting them as a child, throughout school and then when I started dating J. That little weasel got ahold of one and now it’s crucial that there is a steady supply in our freezer at all times.

We ran out last week. Me, in my hurried attempt to stuff every sugary delight I could find into my face before the detox started, ate the last four one. J went to the freezer to snag one and an almost heart broken look crossed his face as he realized that all the almond bars were missing.

An emergency call to my mom was in order – Help! We need more almond bars, STAT! Well she’s not coming into town for a few days so she sent me the recipe. It’s so easy, there really is no reason not to make them. Sweet, crumbly bars with a light almond flavor, perfect with tea or after dinner. Also, J and I like to eat them right out of the freezer. They obtain a denser quality that I love and stay fresh for weeks.

Almond Bars Title

Yields:  A cake pan full

Difficulty: Extra super easy

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 & ½ cup sugar
  • 1 & ½ cup flour
  • 1& ½ cups melted Blue Bonnet Margarine (I don’t know…this is what the recipe calls for and my mom was insistent, so I don’t mess with greatness)
  • 3 teaspoons almond extract
  • 1 cup sifted confectioners sugar
  • 1 cup sliced almonds (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325
  2. In a large bowl, beat the eggs until frothy
  3. Mix in the sugar, flour,  margarine, and almond extract mixing each ingredient before adding the next.Almond Bar Batter
  4. Once everything is well blended, pour the batter into a greased and floured 9×13 panIMG_7550
  5. Bake for 25-35 minutes or until golden.
  6. Top with sliced almond and confectioners’ sugar while still warm (I did half and half).IMG_7556
  7. Cut into small square and enjoy!IMG_7565
7 thoughts on “Almond Bars

  1. Pingback: Friday Sweet Treats | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

