Friday Fabness

Happy Friday everyone! I like to include well wishes for a good day – especially on my Friday posts – because I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love a good Friday.

Quickly, I’ve got some fun housekeeping junk to go over. I’m really bad about updating you guys about stuff so this is my attempt at guiding you through the jungle that is The Sassy Swan.

First – Look up. You’ll notice a tab labeled “races”. If you hover your mouse over it, you’re going to notice two sub-tabs: Race Reviews, and Upcoming Race Fun. Pretty self explanatory but there is where you’ll find all my race reviews as well as any races I have coming up. Pretty fancy, huh?

Secondly – and this may be something you already do (in which case you’re awesome) but be sure to follow the blog! Click the button to your right and join the 80 other cool kids. If you’re feeling really sassy, why not follow me on Twitter (@thesassyswan) and pinterest (http://pinterest.com/thesassyswan/) too? Who couldn’t use more friends?

Ok, enough of that. Let’s move on to some of my favorite stuff this week…

St. Patrick’s Day! I usually don’t put too much effort into this holiday, but for the past few years, J’s made it a point to have fun. Last year, I may have even grown a wee bit of something green on my upper lip: St. Patrick's Day Moustache

And yes, I went to the bar with that bad boy on. Also, if you’re looking for a tasty treat to make, look no further than here for some Boozy Car Bomb Cupcakes or here for some easy Leprechaun Balls!

Chicago Reject. So I entered the lottery for the Chicago Marathon and didn’t get in.

Reject

Whomp whomp…

I was mildly disappointed but upon realizing my disappointment, aknowledged the fact that some part of me actually wants to run a marathon. So there’s that. Now, to just pick one…

Thankful. I saw this on Pinterest this week and really wanted to share it. tumblr_mdwbsvhYVw1qiu9ato1_1280

I don’t know about you, but sometimes when I’m having a rough day, it’s so easy to forget that there are still things, wonderful things, that you can be thankful for. I need to remember this more often.

Party Time! Last night, I hosted my first  dinner party at home. I utilized my trusty Tupelo Honey Cafe Cookbook, whipped up some Nutty Fried Chicken with Smashed Sweet Potatoes and Milk Gravy, asparagus and mini biscuits.

Dinner Party

Yes, it was as good as it looks…

Everything  happened to turn out perfect, giving me a little something more to be thankful for.

Moral of this post? Follow me on twitter and stuff. Other moral? Be thankful. What do you have to be thankful for this weekend?

5 thoughts on “Friday Fabness

      • Registration for the Marine Corps Marathon is March 27th. Go to their website and double check that but I think that’s the day. It’s one of my favorite races…I’ve done it twice! Awesome course. There’s so many! You could also come down here to run the Dallas Marathon…always GREAT weather in December. Really just depends on what region you want to go to!

  1. Try to run NYC with me! I need runner friends there. As for everything else, I already follow you. Where are the frickin wedding updates? And, I am thankful for my health and all the people in my life.

    • I could keep up with you for half a mile – tops. But I’m going to try (to register, not keep up with you). As for wedding updates, um when there are some I’ll let you know. Turns out, I’m really, really bad at wedding planning resulting in me continuously putting it off. Whoopsie.

Leave a Reply

