Summer Goals

Good morning! I am in a uncharacteristically chipper mood for a few reasons: One being that it is the first day of Spring, and thank God for that. I am so not a cold weather kind of girl and I am ready for those leaves to get back on the trees, loitering on outdoor patios with a few cocktails, and soaking up some vitamin D. So to that effect, Happy Spring everybody!

This picture was actually taken this morning, so you can be sure it’s legit

The second reason I’m pretty excited about today is I have officially signed up for my last half marathon to complete my 12 Half Marathons in 12 Months Project! What a crazy ride it’s been, and although it’s not nearly over yet (I suppose I still actually have to run the damn things) I can’t help but begin to look beyond June and wonder where I go from here.

Completing this goal has honestly consumed my life for the past  year. Not in the most intense sense, but it’s something that was thought of on a daily basis. Between training, registering, and traveling, it has been a somewhat time consuming project.

The main purpose of doing this was to give myself motivation to stay in shape. If I have a race coming up, I have to train and maintain for it or it’s a waste of both my time and money. And after dropping more than $1,000 on registrations, gear, and traveling, I’ll be damned if I’m not going to give these my all.

Tom King Run

Tom King Classic Pic – My latest PR! Photo Credit to Donna Manley Photography

But after it’s all done, then what? Well, I’ve been thinking about it and I honestly considered taking a break. But for me, a break could turn into a hiatus which could turn into me losing a lot of what I’ve worked for, endurance wise. After taking a 3 week break from running after a particularly bad race, I was appalled at how quickly my abilities slipped away. What was once an easy 5 miles had become the Mount Everest of runs and I don’t want to have to climb that again.

So I break really isn’t an option especially if I plan on running a half, which I do. I know, I know, I keep procrastinating – saying I’ll do it and fail to sign up but I feel like now is the time. I’ve got a well established endurance ‘base’ built up and it will keep me active until the time comes. So I’ve decided to try to register for NYC Marathon (lottery), The Marine Corps Marathon (fast sellout), or the Nashville Marathon (capped at 1,000).

In the meantime, with oppressivley hot days just around the the corner, I decided that if I can’t beat these hot Southern summers, I may as well join them. And by join them, I mean hopping in a pool. The result of my overly enthusiastic intelligence is me attempting a triathlon.  I mean why not? I’ve got the swimming background and I feel like I’m pretty good on the running front. I also have access to a road bike that I don’t use nearly enough so honestly, there’s no reason why I shouldn’t give this a whirl. Except for the fact that I really have no idea what I’m doing. Do I wear my swimsuit the whole time?  Where to I change out of my clippy shoes into my Brooks? What if a fish bites me? Or worse! PIRANHAS! PiranhaPosterA

So there are my upcoming goals. I’ve got a lot to look into and figure out an worry about (I worry – A LOT) oh and a wedding to plan somewhere in there…Sorry J, I promise I’ll do better! Speaking of J, he mentioned possibly doing a Tough Mudder, so throw that in the mix as well.

Needless to say, I’ve got a lot of exciting things planned, if only in my mind for the moment. Have any of you guys ever done a Tri? I’m really concerned about the fish bites. How about a Tough Mudder? Thoughts? What are your upcoming summer goals?

3 thoughts on “Summer Goals

  1. 12 in 12 is so awesome! I think I may consciously make sure I run a half a month but not in the “official race” type of way…way too expensive! It will be awesome if you get into NYC, then I will know ONE person doing it of 50,000, so that is good. As for triathlons, I am committing to getting a road bike this year, now I just have to work on swimming for fitness, I can waste so much energy in the water. Swimming would be the only thing that I would be ok with decreasing my running mileage since it is such a kickass and healthy workout. Fish are not going to bite you, you’re so lame.

Leave a Reply

