Biting the Marathon Bullet

As you read this, I am hopefully enjoying a stunning run along the battery of Charleston Harbor. Battery

J and I took a much needed long weekend and traveled to Charleston to, among other things, try on wedding dresses (me), play golf (him), enjoy the company of good friends (this gal), and eat some amazing food.

The week leading up to this was extraordinary busy for me. J’s birthday was Monday, I had to work both jobs consecutively for two days in a row which left me about 8 minutes of total time to prep for the trip, and I made it a point to squeeze in a few good runs as I skipped out on my typical long weekend run.

Either way, the excitement level of my week was at a depressing low. That is, until, I finally, finally, FINALLY, bit the bullet and did it. Sound the trumpets and raise the flags, I have officially signed up for my very first full marathon! MCM 2013 logo

Can you believe it? Because I sure can’t. Actually, it may have been more difficult to sign up for this damn thing than it’s going to be to run it. Another Active.com fail resulting in 30 minutes of error messages, frozen pages, and sell-out fear. In the end, fate took over and I received a confirmation e-mail. I guess it was just meant to be…

The intense work and amount of time that is going to be put into this boggles my mind. But, I can’t stick to half marathons forever (well, I could, but that might get boring…) and once in a while you’ve got to get outside your comfort zone and and do something incredibly painful stupid inspiring.

I’m still going to try to get into NYC but for obvious reasons, I’m not holding my breath.

Who out there is doing the Marine Corps Marathon? I’m probably going to be needing some support, both mentally and physically. Any marathons I should look into? Word on the street is that they are addicting…But that remains to be seen.

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and a very happy Easter!

6 thoughts on “Biting the Marathon Bullet

  1. That sounds like a hectic week but at least you have your priorities straight! Congrats on the marathon sign up, a blogger I follow from San Francisco got in to this one as well, I directed her to your blog so you can become best friends forever…j to the k. What are you going to do if you get into NYC? They are only a week apart.

  2. Hi there! I’m the San Francisco blogger that Dominick was referring to, though technically I live in Oakland. 🙂 I’m very excited to run MCM, which will be my 2nd marathon. I don’t think marathons are addicting per se, though (as I’m sure you’re aware) pursuing a PR definitely is! Anyway, I look forward to following your training!

    p.s. I went to UNC Chapel Hill for grad school and made it down to Charleston a couple of times. It’s one of my all time favorite cities.

    • Hi new friend!! I’m so excited you’re running MCM too! How painful was that registration though… geez.

      Also, and I have to ask, how the heck did you end up in Oakland after UNC? Pretty much opposite sides of the country, no?

      And now I’m going to proceed to stalk your blog and learn all about you like a creepster. Hope you don’t mind. 🙂

      • Haha, stalk away! Re: MCM registration – yeah that was crazy, but I got pretty lucky. I registered after 20 minutes or so and then received my confirmation about an hour later. I did put in my credit card info twice, so I was a little scared that I had accidentally bought 2 bibs. I’m glad that wasn’t the case.

        I ended up in the Bay Area after grad school – I did my postdoctoral research at UC Berkeley. I fell in love with the area, so I decided to stay. Part of my heart will always belong to the East Coast though (I grew up in Maryland).

  3. Pingback: Birthday Favorites | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

