Pancakes and Bowties

Happy Monday! I wish  I had some witty April Fool’s joke planned for you guys, but alas, coming home late last night left little time for me to write this post in a timely manner let alone come up with a joke.

That being said, I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend and a wonderful Easter. I hear from my sources that the weather in Knoxville was pretty gloomy and chilly which makes the mid-60’s and sun in Charleston all the more special.

I ended up spending a surprising amount of time outside and managed to get two good runs in – one long (11 miles) and one not so long (4 miles) but with good company so it was a wash. I don’t particularly care to run with people most of the time, but every so often, when it’s with a good friend who you haven’t seen in a while, it can be just what you need.

That, and the views can’t be beat. I’ve ran a lot of places and Charleston is hands down, the best views I’ve had so far. The ocean, the history, and complete flatness of being at sea-level makes for a  perfectly wonderful mix. Views

But enough about running, let’s talk food. As we were only there for 2 full days, I made it a point to cram all my favorite places into the visit. I’ve had a hankering for a big juicy burger for about a week now, so following my long run Saturday, we headed for Poe’s Tavern.

Poe

Didn’t manage to take a picture of my burger, but I did of this guy. And yes – apparently 55 degrees qualifies for a fire to be roaring in the fireplace on Sullivan’s Island.

Big Juicy Burger craving conquered. Even though it was a bit chilly that day, I also made out group stop by the beach for a hot second to stick my feet in. If I was there, I couldn’t not, you know? Beach

Also a necessity? A swing by FIG.  I told J I would be taking him there for his birthday dinner/for my own enjoyment. The food was, once again, out of this world and the service was, once again, impeccable. I didn’t take any pictures because, sometimes, it’s just not the right time to whip out your phone and bring unwanted attention to yourself with a bright flash. Except for this pic, of course… FIG

J and I shared an appetizer of Capers Clams and fresh spaghetti mariniere (outstanding), an entree of farm chicken al mattone over senora wheat berries, sweet corn, cape beans and rapini (out of this world) and a dessert of strawberry and sweet biscuit cobbler topped with homemade strawberry ice cream (insane).

Saturday, Jen and I traveled to two local Bridal stores to look for wedding gowns – Maddison Row and Modern Trousseau. For those not at all interested in wedding babble, please skip this paragraph. But it needs to be noted that both these boutiques were really quite lovely. They only schedule one person at a time so the bridal consultants are only focused on you. This was such a refreshing change from the jam-packed boutiques I’ve been going to. It was such a fun and stress-less experience and would highly recommend either places to any future brides that are going to be in the area.

In between sessions, we made our way up to the rooftop of Stars Restaurant where we enjoyed these amazing cucumber and elderflower mimosas. So refreshing and so delicious. Stars

We also managed to make a trip to the Vendue Inn for my beloved Pear of the Dog and although we were able to watch the sun go down on top of the roof, the service there was less-than-steller and we were eager to leave.

View from the top

View from the top

We had dinner at The Noisy Oyster and although the food was good, the service was not (a trend that evening?) and the place was definitely nothing to write home about.

It would be a travesty to not finish this post off with our Easter Brunch at one of my other favorite Charleston restaurants yesterday morning. After getting dressed to the nines in our seersucker, hats, and bow-ties, we made the 15 minute walk to HuskHusk 2I ordered the Wood Fired Buttermilk Pancakes with sorghum,  strawberry and orange compote & powdered sugar, and,J ordered the shrimp and Geechie Boy Grits with charred scallion cream, ember roasted mushrooms, and poached celeste egg. I could go on and on about each, but they were simply perfect. Husk

Sidenote – there is a Husk opening this Spring in Nashville, and I could pee my pants, I’m so excited. Yup. Pee my pants.

Easter

Going to the Derby? Nope, just Easter Brunch!

After a windy walk to the Battery to take some pictures which didn’t turn out – and involved my hat almost flying into the ocean – J and I were forced to begin the trek back to Knoxville. Another wonderful trip to Charleston in the books.

4 thoughts on “Pancakes and Bowties

  1. Pingback: Downtown Date | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Wedding Dress and Non-wedding flowers | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

