Color Me Rad 5-K

Can we just start off by saying how absolutely, miserably sore I am from Sunday’s race?  Don’t get me wrong, I am usually a bit tight the day after a hard run, but this time around I don’t even know. It’s like someone gave me monkey bubbles (tee- hee, remember those things?) all over my legs. I may need a hover-round soon if this doesn’t get any better.

On another, perhaps more positive, note I did mention in Monday’s post that I was randomly asked to run a 5-k on Saturday morning. And not just any 5-k, but a ‘Color Me Rad’ 5-k. You know, one of those color runs where you start off pristinly white and end up looking like something resembling a poorly made tie-dyed shirt?

Now please, don’t hate me. Or judge me. I mean, judge away if you must but I’m going to tell you something blasphemous – I didn’t really care for it. Yes it was kind of fun and the weather was beautiful so that always helps, but I’m not entirely sure if being splattered with clouds of colored cornstarch while doing cardio is my thing. Either way, it was a run (sort of) so a race review we will have:

Race: Color Me Rad 5k IMG_8211

Where: Knoxville, TN

Date and Time: April 6, 2013 @ 9:00 AM (but even at 10:30, they were still having people lining up to start)

We had already run, hung out, and where heading back to our car and all these people had yet to start still.

We had already run, hung out, and where heading back to our car and all these people had yet to start.

Race Time: Good question. There are no chips as this is technically not a race and I didn’t set my GPS because frankly, I didn’t care all that much. I focusing on an easy run and getting colored.

Weather: Beautiful and cool. Clear blue skies, and around 50 degrees.

Best/Worst Mile: There was no mile that was any better or worse than another. There was a short, steep,  brutal hill sometime in late in mile two but J and I ran up it like a bunch of hooligans (perhaps partially why I am still so sore?) because we’re just so tough like that.

Fuel: My cup-o-joe on the way downtown, and some fruit snacks I snagged from the aid station before we began. Love me some fruit snacks.

How did I feel: A-Okay. Kind of sleepy but the nice easy run was a welcome change from my long training routes.

Best Part of the Race: The pictures. The temporary tattoos, the before and after shots, the ridiculous sunglasses – who wouldn’t want to thoroughly document ones decent into color bomb oblivion?

Color Me Rad - Before Pic

Obviously this was before. And just so you know, we slapped J’s tattoo on the back of his neck. Which was there in all it’s douch-baggyness for a solid 2 days.

Weirdest thing I saw: Parents with strollers. Not that there is anything wrong with bringing your baby to get bombed (bad choice of words?) but I feel like the stroller would just get all kinds of messy and with all those nooks and crannies, a pain in the ass to clean.

The Hardware: No medals, no shirts (we illegally purchased our bibs from a friend who had to cancel last minute), BUT we did get some sharp mirrored sunglasses: Color Me Rad Specs

Final thoughts: As a runner, who is runs a race to push myself and is constantly fighting for a literal good time, I found it surprisingly difficult to wrap my head around the fact that this “run” was not really a run at all. If I had to guess, 90% of the people I was around and ran past were walking (Which, by the way, I in no way condone – exercise is exercise and everyone is entitled to get their kicks where they can) and it was hard for me to turn off my “racing” state of mind.

Color Me Rad - After Pic

And, again obviously, the after shot

That being said, this really was a fun race and I totally see why people love them. Logistically, it was well run, the volunteers were enthusiastic, and I can see where the laid-back atmosphere appeals to most. I just don’t think they are for me. That, and running through clouds of corn starch while spitting (and sneezing) out yellow, pink, or blue-tinted saliva (and snot) can be…different.

Also, those ‘RAD’ temporary tattoos are a bitch to get off. Don’t believe me? Check out this pic of me at the finish line of my half the next day – those suckers are like cockroaches. I had to use industrial-strength Goo Gone to get it off before I went to work on Monday. I know I’m rad, but my colleagues may not think so.

Have you ever done a color run? What did you think? Am I being a bit of a running snob? Its ok, you can tell me. I promise I won’t get mad.

Hope you kids have a happy Humpday!

One thought on “Color Me Rad 5-K

  1. These kinds of races sound like my worst nightmare. I’m glad to have read your recap – it’s good to get affirmation from a real runner that I would never want to run one of these. My friends did the “neon run” in Phoenix and said it was 90% high schoolers, no one was running, and their neon stuff didn’t even glow in the dark (the run was at night). Plus, it was expensive! I just don’t get it…

Leave a Reply

