Wedding Dress and Non-wedding flowers

TulipsHappy Monday! Here are some beautiful spring blooms to brighten your day. I hope you had a wonderful weekend and are excited to start your weeks. (I’m usually not this chipper this early but I’ve had several gallons of coffee and it’s finally starting to work its way through my veins).

My weekend was a pretty exciting one, the main event being that I purchased my wedding dress. As a few of you have pointed out, my wedding talk has been minimal at best. Mostly, because I don’t want to bore people with the details (which I’m starting to think isn’t working in my favor because people LOVE to hear about that crap) and also because there hasn’t really been much to talk about. We are waiting to hear back from a venue we like so until that’s settled, we don’t even have a set date.

But the dress…oh the dress. The process of finding one has been exhausting. I searched high and low in Knoxville, took a trip to Nashville and drove 6 hours to the coast to peruse what Charleston had to offer. I did find a dress in that I loved there, but as my mom is being extremely generous and offered to pay for it, I felt it would be nice to have her at least see it before I made such an important decision.

Long story short, I didn’t want to have to drive all the way back to Charleston to try it on again, the dress couldn’t be found in Tennessee, and my last effort was going to be to travel down to Atlanta to where they film the Southern version of Say Yes to the Dress (which I have become mildly obsessed with) and try it on there.

But then I found it. And it’s a good story, and I want to share it with you but I can’t until after the wedding, because you NEED to see this dress. What I can tell you is it’s Romona Keveza, it’s off-white (because I have borderline vampire skin) and it’s pretty much the opposite of what I thought I originally wanted.  So pretty much, it’s perfectly perfect for me and I – the cynical, Northern, emotionless girl – was giddy. I’m still giddy. It’s starting to freak me out.

So I have a dress – and a story to go with it – and that’s where I am with the wedding planning.

After that excitement of my big purchase on Saturday, I needed to channel my aforementioned giddiness into something of use: Running. J and I headed over to Sequoya Hills for our weekly long run. While J is in the middle of his training, I’m just trying to maintain and get better in preparation for my next half and we couldn’t have asked for better views or weather. Running Trail

This area in particular was about 4 miles of the Knoxville Half I did last week. And right now, the dogwoods are out and this neighborhood in particular is simply stunning. Pink Dogwood

Poof Flowers

White Dogwood

Beautiful houses, flowers all in bloom, and a designated running trail throughout. Although it’s pretty hilly, it’s such a wonderful place to run, I could kick myself for not taking advantage of it sooner.

Me taking pics

Being artsy

PoofsAnyone in Knoxville that hasn’t made their way over to Sequoya for a run, walk, or drive, you’re missing out. Of course, maybe I’m just in “I finally found a wedding dress” bliss and suddenly am appreciating the natural beauty of things…Yikes. I’m really hoping this wears off soon.

Have a great day everyone!

2 thoughts on “Wedding Dress and Non-wedding flowers

  1. Pingback: Wedding Planning 101 | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

