Now What?

Taking a glance over my calendar, I noticed that I have many things “penciled in” between now and June. Next weekend I’ve got the Nike Women’s Half Marathon  in D.C., The Kentucky Derby (of which I will not be running) coming up the following weekend, the Viola Valley Half Marathon two weeks after, ending with the Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon in June (which also marks the end of my 12 half marathons in 12 month project).  NikeWomensHalfDCad2c4d15fd9a09a22e9b1b1391bf4620winecountry_logoAnd then…nothing. I’ve got a birthday in July, and no doubt a smattering of days spent on the lake throughout the Summer, but that’s it. The only race I have on the docket is the Marine Corps Marathon, and that’s not till October.

To tell you the truth, I’m sort of worried. I’ve had this goal for a year – A  YEAR, PEOPLE – I’ll have completed it, and I just know I’m going to have a serious case of the “now what’s?”.

So, I’m going to just rip the inevitable band-aid off – Now what? I could keep going with my half marathon a month thing, but that seems a bit unoriginal now. I’d love to say that when I run my first full in October that I’m going to get the bug and want to do a full every month – but part of me also has to be realistic. That’s a big undertaking, physically, emotionally, and let’s not kid ourselves, economically as well. Throw in a wedding, my wedding, for good measure and I’m just not entirely sure it would be feasible to take on such an endeavor.

In the wake of Boston, my desire to run and to continue to do so has grown. So my thought is to try to run a race a month. It doesn’t have to be a full marathon, or even a half. Just run. That’s enough to keep me moving, give me some things to look forward to, and still give me a sense of accomplishment. I’d still like to do a triathlon, maybe try my hand at seeing just how fast I can do a 5K, with maybe a tough mudder or some other obstacle laden race.

So, my readers, lend me your thoughts. Tell me about some awesome races I should do. Races you’ve done, or heard of, or want to do. They don’t have to be close, I just want to see what’s available. And frankly,  there’s no better resource than you guys.

I mean really, who wouldn’t want to run alongside this?

Nothin' to see here folks, just doing my American duty in some totally rad sunglasses.

8 thoughts on “Now What?

  1. They had a Muddy Viking Race and the Viking Lake Camp here in Bemus Point last year. I think it was in November or something like that. It was mighty cold and entertaining!

  2. Pretty sure wedding planning and marathon training will keep ya busy!! I’d be up for one of the obstacle races, so if you pick one, let me know!!

  3. I haven’t done the Rock’n’Roll Los Angeles but if you remember I was signed up but because it was the week before NYC I had to pass. First and foremost, it’s a halloween themed half marathon…that should be all you need to know. Second, it’s a rock’n’roll event so its fun and full of crowd support. Third, it runs through downtown LA and lastly, Will Ferrell ran it in 2012. So, that is my vote. I may do it this year and run at a slow pace for shits and giggles even though it is still a week before NYC.

Leave a Reply

