Friday Sweet Treats

This week has been a bit hectic to say the least and I plan on getting ready to head to DC early, early tomorrow morning (I hope to be long gone by the time you guys are reading this). So aside from working and running, not too much else has been going on.

You know what else has not been going on? Me cooking. Back in the day when I lived by myself, I found it completely acceptable to have a bowl of popcorn for dinner. It was easy, ‘homemade’ (I used my recipe found here), and clean up was nothing.

Keeping J happy requires a bit more effort so I do tend to make more legit meals now. But he’s been out and about lately so I’ve reverted back to my old ways – popcorn for dinner and maybe if I’m feeling crazy, a small salad, you know, for nutrients and stuff.

Needless to say, if I’m not cooking, you guys aren’t getting any new recipes. My apologies, I’ve been a big fat slacker this week. BUT, never one to leave you disappointed, I started to go through all my old recipes previously posted. The oldies but goodies if you will. I will be the first to admit that I loved each and every recipe I’ve posted, I wouldn’t post them if they sucked. Turns out, there are a lot. So in an effort to limit my choices, and bring a little sweetness into your life,  a round-up of all my favorite sweet treats!Friday Sweet Treats

Almond Bars – Pretty much a staple at our house and my moms, these moist and sweet bars are so easy to make and their delicate almond flavor makes them incredibly addicting.

Hot Cocoa Cupcakes with Marshmallow Vodka Frosting – I mean really, chocolate cupcakes with marshmallow VODKA frosting. It doesn’t get much better in cupcake form.

Checkerboard Cookies – These serve two very important purposes. 1, they show off your team spirit and 2, these crisp sugar cookies are really tasty. A win, win in my book.

Whopper Cupcakes – I’m putting these in here because my dad is obsessed with them. It’s, hands down, his favorite recipe out of everything I’ve made him and he requests them for all his special occasions.

Mimosa Muffins – I’m putting these on here because I’m obsessed with them. Group brunch coming up? Make these. They are so original and they actually taste like a mimosa. Plus, you get the leftover champagne to drink with them. What could be better?

Wagon Wheels – These sweet nibbles are so easy to make that it should be a crime. These are also a favorite of J’s and they rarely last a day in our house.

Rhubarb Pie – My personal favorite recipe on the blog. I adore everything rhubarb and this pie reminds me of so many slices I enjoyed at my grandma’s house during my childhood. Pair it with a glass of cold milk and it’s absolutely heavenly.

Leprechaun Balls – My own special version of the oh-so-popular Oreo balls. So easy and always a hit.

So, although there’s no “new stuff” on the blog, I bet I at least got your mouth-watering. And maybe I gave you a little bit of weekend inspiration.

Be back Monday with a race recap. Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “Friday Sweet Treats

Leave a Reply

