Founding Farmers

You guys know I couldn’t go to a major metropolitan area and not eat somewhere fabulous, right? After all, the delicious food (and sometimes wine) is pretty much the reason I run.

So Sunday, before we left DC, we met up with my friend JW (seen also here) for a little brunch fun. JW is in DC for the summer being an overachiever and interning at the Capitol. Lucky for me, she also spends her free time scoping out the best brunch destinations and scored reservations for us at a restaurant called Founding Farmers. founding farmers exterior

Briefly, lets discuss its local. It’s on Pennsylvania Avenue (the same road that some other famous family lives on, you know in a big white house) in a very modern looking office-type building. But once inside the revolving doors, it’s anything but contemporary. From large jars filled with various pickled vegetables to the gingham-clad wait staff, this place seems more apt to belong in say, Knoxville, then the middle of downtown Washington.

We were seated promptly and I ordered a Bellini. At $12, I was hesitant  but my adventurous side got the best of me, and I’m glad it did. So, so good. Their coffee was also met with rave reviews.

I honestly probably didn’t have to even look at the menu to know what I wanted. I had seen the chicken and waffles in front of another patron and almost stopped in my tracks to grab a bite. A little sweet and a little salty was exactly what my post half marathon appetite wanted. We also ordered the Founding Farmers breakfast that consisted of bacon, eggs (over easy), leek hash browns, and toast. Founding Farmers Breakfast

First, let’s talk eggs. These were THE BEST eggs I’ve ever had in my life. They were perfectly seasoned and…creamy. That’s the best word to describe it. Dear lord, these eggs were alarmingly fantastic.

The hash browns and toast were also delicious and the bacon was pretty standard (once you’ve had Benton’s it’s hard to compare).

The chicken and waffles were everything I’d hoped they’d be. A slightly spicy chicken tender with a bite of sweet waffle dipped in syrup – can’t beat it. Founding Farmers Chicken and Waffles

Due to my drink, our bill came in around 40 bucks, not bad for an amazing brunch. Plus I got to see this girl. Brunch love

If you are ever in the DC area and need a great brunch place, Founding Farmer’s is it. (also, check out my favorite DC salad here).

Now if only I can figure out how to make my eggs like that…

4 thoughts on “Founding Farmers

  1. It’s hard to find your posts in google. I found it on 16 spot, you should
    build quality backlinks , it will help you to increase traffic.
    I know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo tips

  2. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you
    spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates high quality, google friendly articles in minutes, just type in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

