Pickled Cucumbers

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend. Mine was spent doing a little biking, a little hiking, and a lot of catching up.

I noticed that I’ve been seriously slacking in the recipe department and credit my busy schedule and running commitments for such a travesty. I love creating all kinds of delicious things and was happy to find myself back in the kitchen on and off all weekend. As a result, I hereby dub thee, RECIPE WEEK. Yup, a whole week dedicated to nothing but a few random recipes I came up with. So get excited because today, we have our first recipe – Pickled Cucumbers!

Okay, yes. The standard person usually assumes that a pickle is a cucumber. Also, unless you are a pickle snob like I am, one is most used to the very green and potent kind found plucked off the grocery store shelves.

Well this recipe is not at all like that. It’s essentially a light brine that I let some cucumber slices hang out in for a while and then eat them up like it’s my job. Not only is it extremely tasty, it’s also refreshing and a great side dish with anything you slap on a grill.

But first, a back story…Way back in the day when I was still a Northerner, my parents had a pretty sweet garden nestled in the corner of their quarter acre lot that we called our lawn. Said garden spit out cucumber after cucumber all summer long and apparently Papa Swan was forced to get creative and came up with this recipe that he cannot give me accurate measurements on because “it’s not that kind of recipe”.

No fear – it’s really easy and a great way to serve cucumbers if you happen to have an abundance OR you are obsessed with them like I am.

Pickled Cucumbers

Pickles

Difficulty: Stupid Easy

Servings: 4 (or one if you’re an addict)

Ingredients:

  • One cucumber, peeled and scored with a fork
  • 1/4 onion sliced
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • freshly ground pepper
  • salt

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl or mason jar mix vinegar, water, sugar, salt and pepper until sugar and salt are dissolved Brine
  2. Cut the cucumber into 1/4 in sliced Cucumber
  3. Place the cucumber and onion slices in the brine and refrigerate for at least a few hours, overnight if possible.Pickled Cucumbers

Grab a fork and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Pickled Cucumbers

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I also do a quick pickle with cucumbers, but Chinese style — with salt, sugar, rice wine vinegar, chili paste, and garlic. It’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

