Rhubarb Walnut Bread with Orange Glaze

And recipe week continues…

You guys know I love my rhubarb (check out my favorite pie here and some really tasty jam here) so when I was looking to get creative with it again, I immediately looked at doing it in muffin form. Sadly, I was out of muffin liners so I figured I would just make a bread instead. A win-win all the way around.

As the majority of my recipes have stories, this one is no exception. I, in all my infinite wisdom decided to double the recipe you will see below and put it in one pan. The end result was a volcano like explosion in my oven, a lot of smoke, and a lot of cleanup. Too much batter, too small of a pan. Classic recipe fail.

So after 3 test breads, we have the below recipe – a sweet, dense bread dotted with crunchy walnuts and tart pieces of rhubarb complimented nicely with the sweetness of an orange glaze. Delicious and perfect with a cup of coffee.

Rhubarb Walnut Bread with Orange Glaze

Rhubarb Walnut Bread with Orange Glaze

Difficulty: Medium Easy

Yields: One loaf

Ingredients:

Rhubarb Walnut Bread:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (one stick)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped rhubarb
  • 2/3 cup chopped walnuts

Orange Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp fresh orange juice
  • 1 tsp orange zest

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 and butter a 9×5 inch loaf pan

In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon. Set aside

In a large bowl, cream butter and both sugars together until fluffy.

Add in the egg, milk, and vanilla and mix well Rhubarb Bread Batter 1

Combine flour mixture into butter mixture Rhubarb Bread Batter 2

Fold in walnuts and rhubarb Rhubarb Chunks

Pour into buttered bread pan Rhubarb Bread Pan

Bake for 45 to one hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean

Remove from the oven and allow to cool (this is kind of important otherwise the bread may or may not fall apart (Not that I would know…) Rhubarb Bread Unglazed

While the bread is cooling, prepare the orange glaze: Orange Glaze

Combine sugar, juice, and zest in a bowl until desired consistency is reached

Remove bread from the pan and place on a plate or small platter.

Pour the glaze over the bread and allow to cool. Drippy Glaze

Enjoy!

One thought on “Rhubarb Walnut Bread with Orange Glaze

  1. I’m loving your recipe week! I’ve been eager to try rhubarb recipe ( can you believe I have never tasted it?!) so this sounds perfect. Your pickled cucumber are up next, as soon as my garden starts producing them! Love your blog, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

