Easy Greek Salad

I love salad. It doesn’t hurt that I actually love most vegetables in general, but I really do love a good salad. It’s my go-to lunch during the work week and I’ve come to find that you can really throw almost anything into a big bowl, toss it with some greens and you’ve got yourself something that is relatively healthy, filling, and tasty.

Often, J and I will get home from work late. Even more often, I don’t feel like cooking anything extravagant but am still looking for a tasty and someone healthy (if I can help it) meal. Frozen Kashi pizzas are my “healthy” pizza of choice and although J typically veers towards the thick crust DiGiorno’s, I’ve managed to get him on the bandwagon. Yes, frozen pizzas aren’t exactly the pinnacle of what most would consider nutritious, but they are really easy and honestly taste pretty good.

I like to pair our frozen haute cuisine with some sort of veggie. Typically, this Greek Salad. I ensure we always have a steady supply of the needed ingredients in the house and it’s so simple to throw together that we usually tend to have this at least once a week.

The best part? I really doesn’t even need a dressing. The flavors of the ingredients are so bold, the salty cheese, briny olives, and pungent peppers, that at the very most I’ll squeeze some lemon over top and I’m good to go.

This salad also pairs well with pretty much anything so have at it. Eat a big ass bowl by yourself, pair it with spaghetti or grilled chicken, or meatloaf I don’t care, just enjoy the simplicity of a few ingredients coming together to create something so perfect.

Greek Salad

Difficulty: Easy

Serves: 2- 4

Ingredients:

2 heads of romaine lettuce, chopped Lettuce

1 cucumber peeled (or unpeeled, whichever you prefer, I score mine) and chopped into quarters

1 dozen Kalamata olives, pitted (bought pitted? Curses! Watch how to pit an olive here)

1/4 cup mild sliced banana peppers, chopped

1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Other optional add ins: red onions, green peppers, halved cherry tomatoes

Directions:

Put that shit in a bowl and eat – you know how to make a salad guys! Greek Salad CloseupAnd with that, Sassy Swan Recipe week concludes. I think I shall have more of these – I kind of like them.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

