Roasted Vegetable Bruschetta with Goat Cheese

Hello! I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and made it through their Monday with their sanity intact. I have just so happened to go through three, count them, THREE iPhones in the past week and it’s been a bit hectic ’round these parts.

Last Friday, back when I was on phone #2, J and I decided to have lunch at one of our favorite places for lunch, The Northshore Brasserie. The Brasserie is a French Belgium restaurant that boasts killer pomme frites, an amazing Sunday brunch, and probably the best lunch deal in town. For less than $10, you can snag yourself a scrumptious BLT, cucumber brie croissant, fried egg and cheese brioche, curry chicken baguette, shrimp salad baguette, or a smoked salmon croissant, a side (go with the fries) and a drink. Although I can’t speak for several of the items, everything I’ve had there has always been on point.

This includes the Roasted Vegetable Tartine I decided to order that day. I was in the mood to switch things up from my standard BLT and the tartine came highly recommended. Our server described it as a mix of seasonal roasted vegetables mixed with goat cheese and drizzled with a balsamic reduction and served open-faced. Honestly, he had me at goat cheese. Northshore Brasserie Vegetable Tartine

Either way, I was smitten. It could’ve been the Vouvray, but honestly between the cool crisp white and the warm, fresh veggies, I couldn’t have asked for a better lunch on a warm day.

So I figured I’d give it a whirl. Except I’d serve it bruschetta style on grilled baguette sliced. Turns out, you throw some goat cheese and Balsamic on pretty much anything and you’ve got yourself a decent recipe. But if you roast some seasonal veggies and add ’em to the mix, you’ve got something borderline perfect.

Roasted Vegetable Bruschetta with Goat Cheese Roasted Vegetable Bruschetta with Goat Cheese

Difficulty: Easy

Yields: 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 12 stalks asparagus, trimmed
  • 6 button mushrooms, cleaned with stems removed
  • 8 cherry tomatoes (I used the yellow kind because that’s what was on sale, but the red will work just fine)
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 oz goat cheese
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 French baguette loaf, sliced at an angle and drizzled with olive oil
  • Olive oil

Salt & Pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. chop all the veggies into bite-size pieces. I’m talking a teeny, like so: bite size asparagus
  3. Place the veggies in a bowl, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and fresh pepper. Mix.
  4. Pour onto baking sheet and spread around into one even layer. Place in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. Bite Size Veggies
  5. While the veggies are roasting, pour the balsamic vinegar into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and allow the liquid to reduce by half. Remove from heat.
  6. After 15 minutes, turn the broiler on the oven and allow the veggies to cook until they begin to brown – but only slightly so keep an eye on them!
  7. Place the goat cheese in bowl and pour the roasted veggies on top. The heat from the veggies will cause the cheese to melt (you may have to give it a hot second). Stir around until the cheese has evenly coated the veggies.
  8. I did my bread on the grill like a boss, but then I realized that the broiler was already on and I could’ve saved some propane if I had doubled up in the oven. So toast your bread how you deem worthy. Grilling Bread
  9. Once the toast in toasted, spoon the veggie/cheese mix on top.
  10. Top with a drizzle of the balsamic reduction and serve. Roasted Vegetable Bruschetta
3 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable Bruschetta with Goat Cheese

    • Shattered one (did you know iphones shatter? they do), overheated one (did you know iphones can overheat? they can), but lucky number three is holding strong so far…fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

