Chocolate Chip Cookies

Something happens when you first  move out from under your parent’s roof and begin the next chapter of your life.  First, one tends to go a little nuts. The sweet taste of independence is like a drug that insists you can do whatever you want (i.e get drunk) whenever you want (i.e. all night long) and no one will be there to scold you for your excellent life choices. The second is that you start to miss the little things you took for granted. For example, your mom doing your laundry (a skill I have yet to master) and all the free dinners.

Over the weekend, my high school reunion was held up in New York. I chose not to attend because, to be frank, I am in touch with all the people who I want to remain in touch with from high school and that’s good enough for me. Also, it’s a long haul up there and I’ve got some other, more important, things going on in my life. That being said, I was feeling particularly nostalgic and found myself at my parents house going through old pictures. Here’s a goodie for you:

Greaduation Awesomeness

Sidenote: My parents currently reside about an hour outside Knoxville. They moved down approximately 2 days before I started school at UT (yay for in-state tuition!) and although it’s not the house I grew up in, the furniture and memories remain the same.

After relishing in my awesome hairdo and cutting edge fashion choices, I wanted to further my journey into my childhood and set off to make my mom’s chocolate chip cookies. A manhunt was on for the very specific recipe  which I found a half hour later. You can always tell the best recipes by their splattered and stained card. Recipe Card

Either way, this is my version of happiness in cookie form. The best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever, simply because this is what I grew up on. The family’s ancient cookie tin was always full of them and they never lasted long. I also have a brief recollection of my brother making a batch only to eat the entire industrial size bowl of cookie dough one blissful spoonful at a time. And let’s not forget the time he didn’t understand that a little ‘t’ meant teaspoon not tablespoon and we had some disgustingly salty cookie dough on our hands, which I’m pretty sure he still ate because he’s a champ like that. Healthy, us kids were.

Thanks for bearing with me for this trip down memory lane. Here’s the recipe after I made some edits (Crisco? No. We use butter. Chocolate chips? What like a bag-full? No directions oven temp or cookie times? Perfect…) and also, I have no clue who Amy is so Amy, whoever you are, I am indebted to you eternally.

Please enjoy – this recipe is very near and dear to my heart.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yields: 3-4 dozen

Difficulty: Pretty Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2&1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon water
  • 1&1/2 cups chocolate chips (use 2 if you’re feeling devilish)
  • Throw in some chopped walnuts if it’s your thing. It’s not mine (but it is my dad’s) so to each their own.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. In a mixer, cream butter and sugars until fluffy Mixer 1
  3. In a bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt
  4. Pour half the flour mixture into the butter mixture and combine. Pour the remaining flour in and mix well. Mixer 2
  5. Add the eggs, vanilla, and water until combined Mixer 3
  6. Pour in the chocolate chips and mix until just incorporated Dough Bowl
  7. Using two spoons, place about a tablespoon of the mixture on a baking sheet (I experimented using a silicone slip pad and without, and the results were the same, so whatever you chose) Cookie Dough Balls
  8. Bake for 13-15 minutes or until just golden Hot Cookies
  9. Remove from oven and allow to cool on a towel.
  10. Serve with milk. Always, always serve with milk. Chocolate Chip Cookie
6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Really…REEEEAAAAALLLLY. IU:BW(*^#(*@ …I f’ing love chocolate chip cookies and I have a mixer plus all the ingredients and I am a fat kid so consider this done…juuuust when I was starting to see a little bit of my abs come through.

  2. Mmm I wish computer screens were interactive so that I could lift up one of those cookies and take a bite from it, they look so good! I too don’t think I would go to a high school reunion precisely for the reasons you mentioned, it’s good to have maintained the friendships I cherished over the years:)

  3. Pingback: Just a Friday | The Sassy Swan

  4. Pingback: Homemade Lemonade | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

