Homemade Lemonade

I’ve been feeling a little bit off lately, so when I woke up yesterday morning with a head cold, it really came as no surprise. In an attempt to cure all that ails me, I’ve been drinking an excessive amount of Vitamin C, sipping soup, and generally complaining about my problems with anyone that will listen. I don’t do sick very well…

I decided that if I was going to continue down this road of misery (dramatic? Me?) then I should probably make something that’s cold, delicious, and comforting. And if you forget about the truck-loads of sugar involved it’s got some immune boosting Vitamin C – a win-win for everyone!

I’m talking, of course, about lemonade. A few weeks ago, during my adventures in chocolate chip cookie making, I came across my favorite lemonade recipe, hand-written by me circa 1998:

Lemonade Recipe

Perhaps I should have re-written this in legible hand writing on a more sturdy form of paper, but no. Back in the box with you, treasured recipe, to be unearthed in another 10 years!

The thing about lemonade is, once you make your own, you will detest and scoff at any such concoction made from concentrate. So be warned: plan on throwing away your freezer-burned tubes of syrupy nonsense and prepare to be amazed.

A few notes before we begin: I spent much of my youth and adult life using one of those glass lemon juicer things that my parents thought were ‘charming’ and left my arms in a spaghetti-like state. Due yourself a favor and get one of these bad boys.

Lemon JuiceYour lemon-juicing productivity will increase ten-fold. Also, this is a basic recipe. I thought about doing a strawberry lemonade (just add strawberries!) a basil lemonade (just add basil!) or, wait for it, strawberry-basil lemonade, but decided that I was sick and lazy and didn’t feel like going to the store for strawberries. BUT that doesn’t mean you have to follow in my footsteps. By all means, get creative!

Lemonade 6

Yields: 8 cups

Difficulty: Easy peasy lemon squeezy (ha! did you see what I did there?)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon rind
  • 1 1/2 cup fresh-squeezed lemon juice
  • 5 cups cold water

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, bring water to a boil
  2. Once boiling, add sugar & lemon rind and stir until dissolved
  3. Add lemon juice and cold water
  4. Mix well, allow to cool, and serve over ice Lemonade
2 thoughts on “Homemade Lemonade

  1. You need to frame that recipe before it “dizzolves”…I like that you had “rind” down but not the D word. Seriously though…that recipe, framed on a wall in the kitchen would be totes adorbs.

    That juicing tool looks INSANELY AWESOME. Great for cocktails and lemonade…buying it. Please tell me Williams Sonoma is owned by Barnes and Noble because they have the exact same website.

    Lastly, call me special but do you squeeze the strawberries into a mash and boil or just cut them up? Help!

Leave a Reply

