Weekend Fun

I feel like I have been quite the busy little bee these past few weeks and it’s about to get even more intense as my beloved Volunteer’s first game is this Saturday. I’m so excited I can barely contain myself. #VFL

But before I jump ahead, let’s take a look back to last weekend, where I took advantage of one of the rare sunny weekends we’ve had this summer and enjoyed it as best I could.

Saturday I spent a bit of time on the lake, catching up on lost boat days from wet weekends past, and then we headed back to the house so we could get ready for Dinner in White, Knoxville edition.

This is an interesting concept developed in Paris 25 years ago where everyone dresses in all white, you meet at an undisclosed (until hours before the event) location and have a very large, very white picnic. There are some pretty elaborate rules (no disposable utensils or cups, tables, chairs, plates, must be white, no kids, etc.) but it’s quite a spectacle to see hundreds of people marching around in their white finery.

Dinner en blanc 3Dinner en blanc 2Dinner en blanc

Read more about Dinner En Blanc here

I put my new golf shoes to good use on Sunday, walking 9 holes with J (who is in absolute dude heaven now that I can, albeit poorly, play golf). Golf Shoes

I guess that since I’ve been on a new shoe kick (see what I did there?) lately, between the Mizunos and FootJoys, I figured a pair of clip-in cycling shoes were finally in order – after 2 years of cages, it was a long time coming – so I picked up these oh-so-fashionable carbon fiber bad boys: Louis Garneau Women's Multi Lite Shoes

Then I attempted to figure out how to use them. On Sunday. Following a 2 hour golf game and knowing I need to get a long run in – Let’s just say I’ve had much better ideas. There were tears involved, and I got up close and personal with the black top more than I would like to admit. But after 3 wipeouts, a little bit of blood, and some dirt covered legs, I pushed out 14 miles with J.

And the next day I could barely lift my coffee cup and had a bruise on my rear in the distinct shape of a pedal. My bike literally kicked my ass.

Anyone have clip pedal experience? Please tell me I’m no the only one who was brought to tears. Also, anyone heard of/participated in a Dinner en Blanc? Once you get over the slight douchiness of it all, it was a pretty fun event. I mean, I’m never one to turn down a themed party, especially when food and wine are involved.

Hope everyone has a wonderful Wednesday!

5 thoughts on “Weekend Fun

  1. To be honest, when I saw your Instagram pics tagged with “white dinner” it sounded a little racist, so I was glad to find out it had other names. 😉 I’m so scared of clip-in shoes for regular biking. I have them for spin class, but there’s no chance of me falling over on those bikes. You’ll get the hang of it soon, I bet.

  2. A White Party is a very white thing to do…jk…kinda. It looks fun enough though and you two look stylish in all white. Golfing is so time consuming that I can understand why J is so psyched…now he gets to enjoy two things at once. Cycling is for the birds..I mean nerds…I mean nevermind. (I am really not against it in anyway, just haven’t got into it yet)

  3. Sounds like a fun weekend! I would like to say it gets better but I have been riding for years and still have problems clipping in and out at times! I had an incident riding Saturday that made me want to quit it all together. I am a total clutz though 🙂

  4. Pingback: Training Recap Week #11 | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

