Tailgate Friday: Volunteer Cookie Bites

We meet again, Tailgate Friday! Summer flew by way to fast and here we are on the cusp of another fantastic football season. Spirits are high, the outlook is bright, and I’ve got a recipe with enough sugar in it to put you in a week-long coma. All is right with the world.

Last year, I developed my ‘Tailgate Friday‘ series as a way to bring a little bit of my beloved Tennessee Volunteers into your home. Many of these recipes can be changed accordingly to represent your various teams if, ahem, orange isn’t your color.

(check out my newly added tab up top for all my previous Tailgate Friday Recipes)

This week’s selection is sweet. Literally and figuratively. Although temperatures are still lingering in the humid 90’s around here, grocery stores are beginning to stockpile their autumn wares. This includes, but is not limited to, ceramic “decorative” pumpkins, those weird cinnamon broomstick things, assorted Halloween decor, and these: Candy Corn M&Ms

Truth be told, I don’t even like candy corn, I snatched these up because the only colors in the bag are orange (yay!), white (double yay!), and yellow (the ones I can eat! Yay!). Then I ate one, and they really don’t even taste like candy corn. Worse. They taste like cake batter. This is only worse if you hate cake batter, and nobody hates cake batter, so now here I am, hungover from the 700 yellow “candy corn” M&M’s I ate last night. You’ve been warned.

Since I’m so artsy, I figured these delectable orange tidbits would look best resting upon a white backdrop. Insert these:

Reese's White Minis

And since I’m going sugar crazy, I decided to surround the whole shebang with a sugar cookie. Sugar-enveloped, chocolate, peanut butter madness is what we have here, folks. Happy Friday and welcome to football season – Sassy Swan style.

Volunteer Cookie Bites

Volunteer Cookie Bites

Yields: 2 dozen

Difficulty: So Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1 package pre-made sugar cookies (preferably the ones in pre-cut squares. The easier the better, my friends)
  • 24 white miniature Reese’s peanut butter cups
  • A load of orange M&M’s (or whatever color you fancy)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to the directions listed on the cookie dough
  2. shape the cookie dough into 1-inch balls and place in a greases mini muffin pan
  3. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until edges are golden brown
  4. Remove the cookie balls from the oven and press a Reese’s cup into each cookie
  5. Top with M&M’s
  6. Go into sugar shock

Cookie BitesHappy Friday everyone, I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

3 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: Volunteer Cookie Bites

  1. Pingback: Weekend Adventures | The Sassy Swan

Leave a Reply

