Tailgate Friday: White Chocolate Blondies

I have found, as I get older, that the nostalgic pang of childhood memories come flooding back whenever I step foot in my parent’s kitchen. I distinctly recall spending countless evenings with my mom in front of her yellow Kitchen Aid mixer making all sorts of sweet goodies that would make the entire house smell delicious. Should I die and go to heaven (here’s hoping) I relish in the fact that paradise will be my mom’s kitchen, stocked with an endless supply of flour, sugar, and butter.

When this crazy week found me, rather unexpectedly, at my parents doorstep in the middle of the week, my overjoyed mother was thrilled when I suggested we bring this week’s Tailgate Friday’s recipe to her oven. Better yet, we’d each make our own separate batches, using different ingredients and have a bake-off. Iron Chef style (except for, you know, all the courses and exotic ingredients. So not really like Iron Chef at all…but you get the picture).

So there we were, covered in flour, sneaking bites of chocolate and pecans, standing in front of her new industrial-strength kitchen-aid (a product of the big move to Dixie Land) while the house filled up with the smell of baked goodness. And it was perfect.

So thank you for humoring me as I regale you with tales of my past. In return, I present you with the winner of the great Swanson Blondie Bake-Off of 2013:

White Chocolate Blondies

White Chocolate Blondies

Difficulty: Medium

Yields: Depends how you cut them, but at least a dozen depending on how big you like ’em

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup white chocolate morsel of choice. I used my crazy white chocolate M&M’s left over from last week’s shenanigans – orange & white FTW!
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Cream butter and sugar
  3. Gradually add the egg and vanilla. Mix well
  4. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt
  5. Add to the butter, sugar, & egg mixture.
  6. Mix well until incorporated
  7. Gently fold the chocolate into the batter (and nuts if so desired)
  8. Pour the batter into a greased 8×11.5 baking pan (this batter may not seem like enough but it is) Blondie Batter
  9. Evenly spread the batter in the pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden
  10. Remove and allow to cool.

*Note: these brownies will be a bit on the thinner side. If you prefer thicker brownie you can use a 9×9 in. pan but you will need to cook longer*

Blondie sideview

Enjoy, guys and happy, happy Friday!

5 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: White Chocolate Blondies

  1. I have fond memories of your Mom’s kitchen.. Remember the time we tried to make homemade fettuccine Alfredo.. Noodles and everything? Those were the days 🙂 These blondies look and sound amazing, I will try them out soon!

Leave a Reply

