Tailgate Friday: Chocolate Dipped Plantain Chips

Allow me to offer you some friendly Friday advice:

  1. Never go into a grocery store hungry. This is obvious and yet for someone with what seems like a bottomless runners stomach, nearly impossible
  2. Never EVER go into Trader Joe’s without a specific list which you are capable of sticking to without getting distracted by delicious looking displays.

Trader Joe’s is the Target of grocery stores. You go in thinking you need one or two things, and walk out with armfuls of delicacies that you simply cannot live without.

This time of year, TJ’s is especially sneaky. They are obviously playing off of innocent girls whose love for all things pumpkin as soon as Fall hits is insatiable. Well played, Marketing Team, well played.

Aside from the Pumpkin Soup (delish), Pumpkin Pop-Tarts (toaster pastries, whatever), pumpkin butter, and pumpkin tea, I also managed to snag a bag of Kale (what I actually came in for) and some plantain chips.

I have an extreme love for banana chips but they are pretty high in sugar so I rarely get them because I lose all control and gobble the whole bag cookie monster style. Like an ass, I assumed plantain chips would be pretty much the same thing but a little less sweet allowing me to eat more with less guilt (my power of reasoning knows no bounds when it comes to grocery store finds that I don’t need).

So, you can imagine my delighted surprise when I popped one of those suckers in my mouth and they tasted exactly like…potato chips. Not what I was expecting, but tasty nonetheless.

So I got to thinking, as I often do, about what I could use these for aside from snacking. Well what goes with potato chips? Dip, but that’s too easy. I could put them on a sandwich a la Ally Sheedy  (10 points if you caught The Breakfast Club reference) or I could dunk them in chocolate. I mean if Trader Joe’s dips their potato chips in chocolate, why can’t I dunk some non-banana-y plantain chips in it?

Allow me a second to pat myself on the back for this one, because these things are good. A super easy, 2 ingredient recipe that’s the perfect mixture of salty and sweet. Now if only my Vols could be this good…

PlantainChips

Yields: about 3 Cups

Difficulty: Stupid Easy

Ingredients*:

  • 1 6 oz. bag of Plantain Chips
  • 4 oz. Chocolate candy coating

*You could absolutely drizzle these in another color of chocolate (ahem, orange) or throw some sprinkles on them but with this recipe, the beauty is in its simplicity so I will leave the additional garnishment up to you.

Directions:

  1. Melt the chocolate
  2. Dip plantain chips into chocolate, allowing some of the access to drip off
  3. Allow to dry on wax paper or wire rack Dipped Chips
  4. Stuff your face

Happy Friday everyone, have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Tailgate Friday: Chocolate Dipped Plantain Chips

  1. God…what is wrong with you! This combination would have never crossed my mind and as a self-proclaimed fat kid in mind and spirit…the fact that it would cross yours is extremely concerning.

Leave a Reply

