2014 Sassy Swan Resolutions

photo-3And here we are: the last day of 2013. I’d say it’s been a pretty good year, I got a new job, moved to a new city, and finally scored an almost-reasonably priced and pet-friendly apartment in the neighborhood I wanted (Nashville real estate is relentless, I tell you). Oh yeah, and I meandered my way across the finish line of my first marathon.

In fact, I ran a lot.  Approximately 784 miles worth. 784 MILES! That’s Nashville to Toronto. Toronto is in a different country guys – wrap your head around that one.photo-3

We’re talking two pairs of shoes, countless blisters, one busted toe, 2.5 sticks of body glide, 7 half marathons, one full marathon, a new PR, and a partridge in a pear tree.

I’m not usually one to pat myself on the back but I’m pretty damn proud. It’s been a good year.

So in the time-honored tradition that comes every December 31st, my 2014 Sassy Swan Resolutions:

  1. Run more. I know, I just congratulated myself on how much I ran in 2013, but November and December have seen little to no running, only solidifying the fact that I am a very goal-oriented. Once I fork over the cash and register for a race, you better believe I’ll run. No race in site? I’ll use that fork to sit around all day and eat pie. I’m my own worst enemy.
  2. Blog more. I’ve been bad lately. I guess when I took a break from running, I inadvertently took a break from blogging consistently as well. Nobody wins when that happens so blog more I will – and with more vigor if you’re lucky!
  3. Embrace my new ‘hood. It can safely be said that on any given night of the week, there is always something happening in this town. I can’t swing my purse without hitting a”struggling” musician (or a hipster), the food scene is quite happening, and between the honky-tonks, hip urban hangouts (see aforementioned hipster reference), and hopping’ brewery scene, plenty for me to drink.

Here’s the trick to NYE resolutions – make them easy enough to be attainable yet interesting enough to keep you motivated.

So cheers to you, 2013 – it’s been fun. And you, 2014. You little devil. You just wait, because I’m going to run circles around you too.

2 thoughts on “2014 Sassy Swan Resolutions

  1. WordPress won’t let me “like” this post, so I’m writing to let you know that I like it! 2013’s been a great year for you, and I’m excited to see what 2014 has in store. Happy New Year!

  2. Huge year K! It appears that you had a lot on your plate in 2013 but you powered through. 784 miles is intense, one marathon in the books, you’ll probably explain what race are on tap in your next post so I will wait for that (you could’ve already posted it but I am working my way through notifications). Blogging can take a back seat to change in my opinion but I look forward to reading your post so make your readers happy.

Leave a Reply

