Oven Roasted Corn

I hope everyone had a fantastic 4th of July weekend. Mine was filled with days on the Lake, BBQ, the perfect weather, and a few koozie-covered bottles of good American beer – the perfect Independence Day. Now that I’ve had a few days to get back into the swing of things, let’s talk food. It’s been a hot second since I’ve posted any sort of recipe on here and although this isn’t really a recipe – it’s the base of something that can be used in all sorts of stuff. Allow me to elaborate…

At the grocery store the other day, I noticed that it’s officially corn on the cob season. Huge crates filled with $0.25 corn is both delicious and budget friendly – two things I love. Last summer I was lucky enough to have access to a grill and discovered the wonders of grilling corn on the cob rather than boiling it to death. I vowed to never have anything but grilled corn again… that was, until I no longer had a grill at my disposal. As desperate as I was, I wasn’t about to bust out my trusty tailgate camping grill for a few ears so I figured I had only a few options: Boil it (blah) or try roasting it in the oven. At the risk of assuming that my cobs wouldn’t turn into a logs of popcorn (hey, you never know) I googled, and found out that oven roasting corn is not only stupid easy, but also low maintenance. Yay for easy dinner party food!

So here’s what you need:

  • A few ears of corn, husked
  • Lot-o-butter
  • Salt & Pepper

Preheat the oven to 400

Bath your corn in butter salt and pepper. Seriously, smear that sucker into oblivion. Butter makes the world go ’round.

photo 1-9

Place the buttery cobs on a cookie sheet (line it with foil if you have it, I did not)

Stick in the oven for 20 minutes, rotate, and roast for 20 more until its delicious and roasty-looking

photo 5-6

VOILA! Delicous Corny awesomeness.

You could absolutely eat this strait from the cob (just wait for it to cool…whoops). But since huge salads are my number one dinner during the summer, I sawed the corn kernels off the cob and used them to top off some kale, tomatoes, cucumbers, lime juice, and parmesan cheese. An option for all your people out there who hate picking kernels out of their teeth after gnawing away at the ear.

photo 2-6 copy

3 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Corn

Leave a Reply

