Marathon Training Calendar

Good Morning everyone and happy Thursday!

In case you haven’t taken a peek already, I’ve added a few new races to my rather sad looking “upcoming races” tab.

Other proactive things I’ve done? Create a Half Marathon Training Calendar! Get excited guys, because this is it – no backing out now. Plus I figure this will be an excellent way to get into the shape for the wedding. Two birds with one stone.

I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus from running these past few weeks. It’s been hot, there’s been a boat readily available, and frankly the daunting task of starting to train in this heat has given me all the excuse I need to take it easy. I have been running, don’t get me wrong, but they’ve been short and slow, and I’m OK with that.

This lovely schedule I created is similar to my Half Marathon Training that was adapted from Hal Higdon’s Training Programs. I’ve changed up some of the longer distances, capping at 24 rather than 20, and included weight training. I’ve also incorporated a few races along the way to keep things interesting. This is what we’re looking at: Marathon Training Calendar

And there you have it. 587.5 miles of what will undoubtedly be some of the most grueling of my life. Jealous? You shouldn’t be. I wouldn’t wish almost 600 miles on anyone in this heat and humidity. Welcome to Summers in the South.

And just in case you’d like to participate in this true test of endurance with me, here’s the calendar in a Word Doc so you can edit however your little heart desires: Marathon Training Calendar

Sunday will mark the beginning of my marathon adventure. Can’t wait to complain write all about it to you guys! Lucky ducks!

Until then, I wish you all a wonderful and happy day!

5 thoughts on “Marathon Training Calendar

  1. Pingback: Training Recap Week #1 | The Sassy Swan

  2. Pingback: Training Recap Week #2 | The Sassy Swan

  3. Pingback: Carter Mill 10-k Splash | The Sassy Swan

Leave a comment